AR 15 with Eotech 512 post pics


PDA






f4t9r
March 10, 2008, 06:12 PM
How does your eotech 512 sit on your AR 15?
Mine wants to set on the round barrel nut and Im not sure I like that.
I tried to post a picture of what I am talking about.
Well that did not work !!!
Anyone want to post of picture of your ar with the Eotech 512 on it.
Move down I have a pic now so you can see !!!!!!

If you enjoyed reading about "AR 15 with Eotech 512 post pics" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
H2O MAN
March 10, 2008, 06:38 PM
http://www.athenswater.com/images/6920-03.07.2008.jpg

TexasRifleman
March 10, 2008, 06:41 PM
They are long, no question.

On this one, the Surefire handguard is bigger around than stock and I actually had to grind a flat spot into the handguard for clearance.

But, being able to use standard AA batteries made it a no brainer even with the trouble this caused.

The LaRue mount causes it to stick far forward too, but it too is worth it to me.

http://homepage.mac.com/jayc67/sbr.jpg

f4t9r
March 10, 2008, 06:45 PM
Her is a pic
Look at the top ar and see how the Eotech rides on that round nut.
does not seem to want to set all the way down and slightly hits that nut.
I am not sure of the proper name maybe barrel bushing nut ??

H2O MAN
March 10, 2008, 06:53 PM
Move the optic back a little >>

ckay
March 10, 2008, 06:54 PM
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u97/ckaynyc/AR-2.jpg

f4t9r
March 10, 2008, 06:57 PM
no room to move back
Here is a better picture

TexasRifleman
March 10, 2008, 07:00 PM
Move the optic back a little >>

LOL sometimes that just doesnt work.

ckay
March 10, 2008, 07:00 PM
Have you considered the RRA Dominator2 mount? It acts as a riser mount and at the same time, a dual aperture BUIS. It'll at the very least float the optic above the nut.

ftierson
March 10, 2008, 07:01 PM
Change out your BUIS...

I have a 512 mounted on a flattop standard length A2 with a Matech PADS BUIS. The front of the battery compartment is just short of the upper handguard, and there's sufficient room behind the EoTech for the BUIS...

Forrest

H2O MAN
March 10, 2008, 07:14 PM
Everything looks fine in this picture.

http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=74466&d=1205186217


Here is another look at my set up.

http://www.athenswater.com/images/6920-03.06.2008.jpg

Ford
March 10, 2008, 07:47 PM
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1028/1154287659_47bf4c98b2.jpg

dscottw88
March 10, 2008, 08:10 PM
Will the 512 fit on the rail when you have the larger newer standard handgaurds on? I would think that because they are a little bigger and the 512 potrudes off the front end of the rail just a bit that the handgaurds would get in the way.

H2O MAN
March 10, 2008, 08:28 PM
The very front of the battery cover is beveled to clear the barrel nut and hand guard.
You should not have any issues as long as you don't mount it too far forward.

Bazooka Joe71
March 10, 2008, 08:34 PM
This is how it sits with an ARMS #40L

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/benrulez71/eotech1.jpg

NAK
March 10, 2008, 08:47 PM
Bushmaster OSR flat-top with an Eotech mounted on 1/2" risers AND a Laser-max Uni looking under the risers.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2356/2143393520_7873725efa_o.jpg

Zach S
March 10, 2008, 09:28 PM
My digital camera sucks, and I'm no Oleg behind it, so I apologize for the bad picture.

I have mine mounted as far forward as possible since I run a fixed BUIS, and because of that fixed BUIS, I'd like to move it forward a notch or two to make the buttons easier to reach. I cant mount it any further forward without dremeling the top of the HGs or the bottom of the battery compartment.

To be honest, I'd like to see an RRA Dominator II mount with an A1 sight, or a Larue Mount with their fixed BUIS insead of a section of rail for an optic that cost more than my car.

But, being able to use standard AA batteries made it a no brainer even with the trouble this caused.
I would have prefered a CR123 model (to use the same batteries as my surefire), but got my 552 in trade. I hate having different spare batteries.

chauncey
March 10, 2008, 09:32 PM
+1 on the Dominator2. it's also more rugged than a flip-up.

you really don't notice it when you look through the EoTech.

f4t9r
March 10, 2008, 11:04 PM
The very front of the battery cover is beveled to clear the barrel nut and hand guard.

It hits the barrel nut and sets ever so slightly tilted up in the front. If you look at the picture there is no gap at all between the nut and the eotech body.

+1 on the Dominator2

Got a pic of one of these

Guitargod1985
March 10, 2008, 11:16 PM
Here ya go

It's mounted a little far forward because I plan on adding a magnifier to my setup pretty soon and I'm not sure how much space I need.

http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=74114&d=1204616838

Eightball
March 10, 2008, 11:23 PM
I know that while firing, that barrel nut thingy gets crazy-hot; would there not be any worry of it melting the battery compartment on the EOTech?

And, would there be a way of mounting an EOTech, Magnifyer, and BUIS on a standard flattop rail (no riser rail), at the same time, without the battery compartment being forward enough to potentially melt?

The Deer Hunter
March 10, 2008, 11:36 PM
I'm wondering why I don't see any scratches or marks from use on these guns...

H2O MAN
March 10, 2008, 11:46 PM
It should fit on the receiver with BUIS without issue.

Example:

http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=30962&stc=1&d=1205175813

f4t9r
March 11, 2008, 07:14 PM
Just do not like the way it sits on the barrel nut , so I am selling this and going back to Aimpiont. I can not figure how others seem to fit better. Most had the flatter round nut (different style ?) from what I could tell.
I can say I owned one for about 3 days, maybe longer depending on how fast she sells. Thanks for the suggestions.

If it fit like H2O Man's does. I would keep it !!!!!

Bazooka Joe71
March 11, 2008, 07:42 PM
Why not get a 511?

Darthbauer
March 11, 2008, 08:48 PM
Just do not like the way it sits on the barrel nut , so I am selling this and going back to Aimpiont. I can not figure how others seem to fit better. Most had the flatter round nut (different style ?) from what I could tell.
I can say I owned one for about 3 days, maybe longer depending on how fast she sells. Thanks for the suggestions.


How much did you spend on it? I ask because maybe you got a knock off. There are alot out there that look exactly like the real ones down to the trademarks. Before I had my ACOG I had an EOtech and I noticed the farther forward it was the quicker target acquisition I had. You can pretty much put it anywhere you like it if you have a full flat top rail from front to back IS.

f4t9r
March 11, 2008, 11:56 PM
I paid $350 It was suppose to be the real thing. It came new in the box

Still 2 Many Choices!?
March 12, 2008, 02:35 PM
I'm confused... Are we talking about the barrel nut, or the delta ring that holds the handguard?

BlazingAngel01
March 12, 2008, 02:38 PM
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s206/CSS10523/Picture036.jpg

I had to rail my shroud to make room for the Magnifier.

H2O MAN
March 13, 2008, 07:21 AM
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b243/conndcj/IMG_0316.jpg

Eightball
March 13, 2008, 08:47 AM
Hey, H20 man.....what's with that different looking battery compartment on that EOTech?

And, am I seeing you as having put the EOTech, Magnifier, and BUIS all on top of the receiver's rail?

If you enjoyed reading about "AR 15 with Eotech 512 post pics" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!