Knives in the Dishwasher?

PDA

Browns Fan
March 11, 2008, 07:41 AM
We are taking some teenaged boys on a camping trip in a couple of weeks and I have been assigned to give a class on knife safety. While doing the research for this (I am no knife expert), I found a sight that said do not put knifes in a dishwasher, hand wash them instead. My wife, last yr bought a set of Cook kitchen knifes, and she says that your not supposed to put those in the dishwasher. What is up with that? What is the difference?

Thanks,
Joe

If you enjoyed reading about "Knives in the Dishwasher?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Shawnee
March 11, 2008, 07:57 AM
Putting them in a dishwasher exposes the edge to lots of bumps and abrasion - thus dulling them very quickly. Same effect as just tossing them in a compartment with other silverware in a drawer.
Also, wooden knife handles (a la Chicago Cutlery etc.) will soften and deteriorate fairly quickly if they undergo frequent, high-temperature drenchings as they would do if always washed in a dishwasher. They really should not even be submerged in dishwater in the sink. The handles can be cleaned just fine 99.9% of the time by simply wiping with a damp cloth or sponge and then (immediately) wiped dry with a towel.

HTH
:cool:

BigG
March 11, 2008, 09:19 AM
Dishwasher detergent contains fuller's earth - an abrasive for blasting the dried on stuff off of dishes. It will remove the handle of your knife and probably the edge, too. You can see how it etches glass that has been run through the dishwasher.

auschip
March 11, 2008, 09:28 AM
Putting them in a dishwasher exposes the edge to lots of bumps and abrasion - thus dulling them very quickly. Same effect as just tossing them in a compartment with other silverware in a drawer.