I'm Considering Switching from FMJ to Lead Bullets.

PDA

Bruce H.
March 11, 2008, 10:14 PM
I have been reloading handgun ammunition for about five years now. I have always used copper-jacketed bullets to avoid handling lead. But with the current price of jacketed bullets I am seriously considering switching to lead bullets for my 38/357 revolver handloads. What is different about using lead bullets to handload compared to jacketed? I know that the powder charges are different and that certain lead alloys will cause leading in the barrel. What should I avoid? By looking at lead bullets on the internet it looks like most of them, if not all have multiple grooves around the bullets. All of the grooves except for the groove nearest the tip of the bullet have a wax or some kind of lubricant in them. What is the purpose of the lubricant? Is the empty groove nearest the tip where I should roll the crimp into, similar to a cannulure on a jacketed bullet? Should I stay above or below certain velocities when using lead bullets to avoid leading the barrel? Is the diameter of the lead bullet always 0.358", whereas jacketed bullets are
0.357" diameter? I have always used Winchester 231 powder for my handgun loads and in reading my Lyman manual it looks like I can continue to use Win. 231 for lead bullets. Where is the best place to purchase lead bullets in bulk? I would appreciate any suggestions.

If you enjoyed reading about "I'm Considering Switching from FMJ to Lead Bullets." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
W.E.G.
March 11, 2008, 10:26 PM
Good quality lead bullets that are hard enough to not lead your barrels probably will cost you almost as much as you pay for run-of-the-mill FMJ's.

cdrt
March 11, 2008, 10:43 PM