Marlin Model 60 or Savage Model 64

PDA

Dynasty
March 12, 2008, 09:15 PM
What would be a better choice for plinking and learning good shooting skills? I read great things on both, but it seems to me what it really comes down to is semi vs. bolt. Any suggestions for a beginner looking to have fun, but at the same time develop skills for the future?

If you enjoyed reading about "Marlin Model 60 or Savage Model 64" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Dynasty
March 14, 2008, 06:56 PM
Bump

WayneConrad
March 14, 2008, 07:06 PM
I'm fairly new at this, but I wonder if doesn't matter. You'll get skills either way, so long as you practice with it. Me, I like bolt guns. But maybe it's a bit of a "blonds, or brunettes?" question.

Furncliff
March 14, 2008, 08:37 PM
Conventional wisdom would most likely favor the bolt gun, to learn on and build skills. The thought being that it will slow you down some. The act of manually feeding is supposed to get you to improve your sight picture before you pull the trigger again. I really don't know if it's true. I learned on a bolt .22 that I still have (but that was back before telephones). I guess I got pretty good with it, at least that's what the RO's said when I qualified with an M1 carbine a few years later. Now I have the Marlin 60 as well. It gets used more. Get'em both, Marlin 60 in long rifle and the savage in .17hmr.

dagger dog
March 15, 2008, 11:34 AM
The day at the range with my father a Remington 511 single shot and 50 rounds of .22 longs (guess they were cheaper) seemed to last forever.