NRA being Spamed???


PDA






Alan Smithiee
August 9, 2003, 01:47 PM
is this legit or not? it got caught in my spam filter, but the "www.na00.com" "allant.nra@na00.com" and "Sincerely, NRA Member Services", doesn't sound like the ones I've gotten in the past.

Received: from source ([207.141.26.12]) by exprod5mx21.postini.com ([12.158.34.245]) with SMTP;
Fri, 08 Aug 2003 23:00:00 PDT
Received: from NETAPPLSMTPA.netappls.com (haw-207-182-249-18.vel.net [207.182.249.18])
by mx.fsr.net (8.12.8p1/8.12.8) with SMTP id h795wcu9054331
for <XXX@MOSCOW.COM>; Fri, 8 Aug 2003 22:58:38 -0700 (PDT)
(envelope-from allant.nra@na00.com)
x-esmtp: 1 5 1
Message-ID: <6334200386953142901@na00.com>
X-EM-Version: 5, 0, 0, 13
X-EM-Registration: #01A0530F108909008E00
X-Priority: 3
Reply-To: allant.nra@na00.com
X-MessageDistributor: www.na00.com
X-NetMessageID: 3.107.222.1788
From: "NRA" <allant.nra@na00.com>
To: "XXX@MOSCOW.COM" <XXX@MOSCOW.COM>
Subject: The NRA Requests Your Permission
Date: Fri, 8 Aug 2003 22:31:42 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_84815C5ABAF209EF376268C8"
X-pstn-levels: (C:79.6536 P:95.9108 R:95.9108 S: 0.0040 )
X-pstn-settings: 4 (1.5000:4.5000) pmCr
X-pstn-addresses: from <allant.nra@na00.com>
X-pstn-disposition: quarantine
boundary="


Date: Fri, 8 Aug 2003 22:31:42 -0700
From: "NRA" <allant.nra@na00.com>
To: "XXX@MOSCOW.COM" <XXX@MOSCOW.COM>
Subject: The NRA Requests Your Permission

Dear XXXX XXXXX, Thank you for being a loyal member of the National Rifle Association. Occasionally, we would like to communicate with you via E-mail, and send you exciting and "Up-to-Date"information on current events, new programs, or member benefits that Internet users like yourself would have an interest in. As a loyal member, we are presently seeking your permission and the privilege to serve you as efficiently and electronically as possible via E-Mail. Thank you again for your loyal patronage. Sincerely, NRA Member Services P.S. If you do not wish to have us contact you via e-mail, please click below and your name will be deleted from all of our e-mailing lists immediately. Please click here to be removed from this mailing list: http://demo.NA00.com/OptOut.asp?Source=3.107.222.1788.XXX@MOSCOW.COM

If you enjoyed reading about "NRA being Spamed???" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jsalcedo
August 9, 2003, 01:50 PM
It looks like the ones I've been getting.

They seem legit because they link to NRA store.

SLOdraw
August 9, 2003, 05:02 PM
The domain NA00.com is registered to an individual out of Wisconson and no web site is connected to it.

I would not respond to it.

Preacherman
August 9, 2003, 05:04 PM
May I suggest that you inform the NRA about this, and send them a copy of the e-mail, including the full header? They will probably want to take action against whoever's using their name in vain, if that's the case.

Standing Wolf
August 9, 2003, 06:15 PM
I received it yesterday and discarded it. I get something in the mail from the N.R.A. at least once a week, and respond more weeks than not. I don't need another avenue of contributions.

C.R.Sam
August 10, 2003, 07:57 AM
Agree with Preacherman.
Whole thing with headers to NRA.

Looks like someone trollin to me.
Fishin for gun owners ?

Lot of similar stuff comin from bogus eBay and PayPal addys that are fishing for secure iformation.

Some of the bogus stuff will get you a worm or virus when you use their link.

Sam

Azrael256
August 10, 2003, 09:03 AM
Ok, in case you're interested...

This na00.com thing is registered to the same guy who apparently owns netappls.com. They're basically a spammer service. Lots of ISP's that do spam filtering kill their stuff. I don't know why NRA would hire a company like that, so I'd say something fishy is up.

C.R.Sam
August 10, 2003, 09:35 AM
Ok, in case you're interested...Azrael256

Darn tootin, thankee sir.

Sam

Alan Smithiee
August 10, 2003, 09:23 PM
already forwarded to NRA with full headers, first thing, no word back as yet.

Alan Smithiee
August 11, 2003, 01:02 PM
this just in...

Dear XXXXXXX,
Thank you for writing the NRA.
The email you received was sent by the NRA to verify your email address
and request permission to send future communications to you via email.
Your email address will not be sold to other companies. It will only be
used to send legislative updates, membership renewal information, and to
advise you of different promotions offered by the NRA and our vendors. If
you do not wish to receive email from us, simply use the link provided at
the bottom of contact Member Communications at 1-800-672-3888, option 2 or at membership@nrahq.org. Please let us know if you have any questions.
Best regards, Don NRA Member Communications P.S. If you need to contact
us again concerning this, please make sure you include this and any
previous correspondence. Some Internet Providers, such as AOL for example,
automatically cut out previous messages when you reply to a message. This
will help insure a quick answer to your inquiry. Thanks again! P.P.S.
Please visit our on-line store and check out the newest NRA Fraternal
Merchandise available! You can start shopping right now at:
http://store.nrahq.org/nra/ Enjoy and thanks again for your support!


so they say it isin't. I won't make comments on what it still looks like to me at least.

If you enjoyed reading about "NRA being Spamed???" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!