How to zero a scope for long distance....


PDA






lvcat2004
March 24, 2008, 01:08 PM
Hey fellas, I just bough my first long distance rifle: CZ750 sniper in 308 Win. with a Zeiss conquest 6.5-20x50. This scope has about 45 inches of total elevation adjustment, and I am planning on shooting Coyotes at up to 400 yards and perhaps some target shooting as far out as 600 yards.

My question is.....how/where to zero the scope?? I was thinking about zeroing at 200 yards, that would cause 20+ inches of drop at say 400 yards depending on bullet/loads??

So I don't need much adjustment DOWN ward, possilby 1-2 inches downward (hitting above line of sight) at 100 yards, so am I supposed to zero it (say 200 yards) with MOST of elevation adjustment saved for UPWARD adjustment?? since I don't need much downward adjustment?? I've never had to think about this so any advice would be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "How to zero a scope for long distance...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ants
March 24, 2008, 01:33 PM
It's your choice. Get a bunch of ammo and try it at various ranges until you find what works for you. That's the fun of shooting.

Zak Smith
March 24, 2008, 01:35 PM
http://demigodllc.com/photo/AI-AWSM/icon/A100_1910_img.jpg
article | Practical Long-Range Rifle Shooting, Part II - Optics http://demigodllc.com/icon/extwh3.png (http://demigodllc.com/articles/practical-long-range-rifle-shooting-optics/)

http://demigodllc.com/photo/TRG42AWSM/icon/D100_4594_img.jpg
article | Practical Long-Range Rifle Shooting, Part III - Shooting http://demigodllc.com/icon/extwh3.png (http://demigodllc.com/articles/practical-long-range-rifle-shooting-shooting/)

taliv
March 24, 2008, 01:40 PM
zak, you should write a macro or a forum-bot that just automatically posts a link any time someone mentions scopes

aka108
March 24, 2008, 02:06 PM
I'd zero it at various ranges and make note of turret marker settings at each range. Zeiss should be very repeatable and not loose zero when ranges reset.

Zak Smith
March 24, 2008, 02:09 PM
Read the article. There is no need to waste a ton of rounds trying to figure out your zero at all ranges. Get a solid 100 yard zero, run the numbers on the computer, and then confirm the data by shooting. (This is different than "generating" the data by shooting.)

The elevation range available does not change by rezeroing the scope-- it only changes if you change the incline of the base the rings are on. (The only exception is limited-turn knobs such as the Leupold M3 or the S&B 1-turn, where the knob itself has less travel than the overall erector travel, once set.)

skinewmexico
March 24, 2008, 07:05 PM
I'd probably put a 10 MOA base on it, in addition to what Zak said. It is legal to crank the elevation knob.

lvcat2004
March 24, 2008, 09:05 PM
Thanks, I read that article but wanted to know that people did in general. I'll go through it again and ask again if I'm still confused. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "How to zero a scope for long distance...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!