4 pounds powder = x bullets

PDA

Shinken
March 28, 2008, 12:00 AM
I am a beginner reloader and am tickled pink to be getting my reloading equipment tomorrow. I will be exclusively reloading for a 9mm Sig P226 pistol. I think I will be buying "Alliant Power Pistol" powder for now, as I read it is good stuff. Someone please give me an idea about how many bullets a 1# powder supply will create. I know this will be an approximate value :)

CC

If you enjoyed reading about "4 pounds powder = x bullets" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
CBS220
March 28, 2008, 12:06 AM
Several thousand.

7000 grains to a pound, roughly.

You have ~28000 grains. I don't know what load you want.

lives4huntin
March 28, 2008, 12:07 AM
One pound of powder is about 7,000 grains according to my RCBS scale. 437.5 grains equals one ounce. At a max of eight grains per case, about 875 rounds could be loaded.

Shinken
March 28, 2008, 12:11 AM
Aha! The 7000 grains to a pound (approx.) is very helpful data. So let me see if I get this right... if I am reloading for 115 grains, and I have 1 pound of the powder, then simply:

7000/115 = 60 bullets

Is this right? WAIT, WAIT... let me review my books... be right back :)

OK, the 7000/115=60 seems off. If I am reloading for a 115 grain/1100 FPS, then book says 5.6 grain... so is it really 7000/5.6=1250 bullets?

CC

lives4huntin
March 28, 2008, 12:15 AM
I think that you are looking at the bullet weight. My books show an average powder charge of about 5.5 grains.

Shinken
March 28, 2008, 12:16 AM
Yeah, I think I edited my message with correct(?) data.

CC

TAB
March 28, 2008, 12:16 AM
Aha! The 7000 grains to a pound (approx.) is very helpful data. So let me see if I get this right... if I am reloading for 115 grains, and I have 1 pound of the powder, then simply:

7000/115 = 60 bullets

Is this right? WAIT, WAIT... let me review my books... be right back