Ivory Johnson 32 revolver

PDA

1BDMAR
March 30, 2008, 10:57 AM
Just wondering if anyone can tell me about these firearms? I need to know what they are worth(if at all) and just the history of them period!

If you enjoyed reading about "Ivory Johnson 32 revolver" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bearhands
March 30, 2008, 11:06 AM
You might do a google search for Iver Johnson 32 Revolver... I'm sure you'll come up w/ some good info

Mike_In_BC
March 30, 2008, 11:07 AM
Is it a top break, or do you load on at a time from the right side? Either way, I'm no expert but they were what people call "Saturday night specials" or "suicide specials". They are pretty much worthless, I think the most valuable best preserved example I'v ever seen sell around here in western canada went for like thirty dollars. I think they were made early in 1900's until like about the sixties.

Sorry if that doesn't help but some more knowledgeable person is bound to set me straight in no time.

SaxonPig
March 30, 2008, 11:41 AM
The Iver Johnson line was generally inexpensive revolvers in 22, 32 and 38 S&W (not 38 Special) calibers often using the top-break design. Quality varied from mediocre to poor depending on model and year of manufacture.

They seem to be collectible and folks are paying what I consider to be fairly ridiculous prices for them off the auction sites.

I doubt that anyone would consider one of these as a useful firearm for any sort of serious shooting. In fact, I would not try to shoot one if I owned it.

Virginian
March 30, 2008, 02:49 PM
I hate to break it to some of you, but I learned how to shoot a handgun with a top break IJ 22, and it was as accurate as any 22 revolver I have ever shot. I killed a many a bunny, groundhog, snake, and squirrel with that puppy. It belonged to the man next door, and he let me use it all the time, and I kept it clean and polished.