Glock 17 vs. Beretta 92FS

PDA

College Republican
April 5, 2008, 05:34 PM
I'm new to firearms, and I will probably be purchasing a 9mm because they are cheaper to shoot than .45. I'm leaning towards a Taurus PT92 (Beretta 92FS clone) or a Glock 17. I just want your opinions on which is the better pistol and why. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Glock 17 vs. Beretta 92FS" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Devonai
April 5, 2008, 05:54 PM
Since the two pistols you listed are just about as different as pistols get, only you can determine which features are better for your needs.

Both have excellent reputations for reliability, which includes my first-hand experience. That's a given. Both have lots of rounds available. After that the similarities diminish. A Taurus will probably be less expensive than a Beretta or Glock.

Handle each, shoot each if you can. Chances are you will greatly prefer one over the other, and only you can make that determination.

10-Ring
April 5, 2008, 06:02 PM
If it were between the Beretta and the Glock I'd say it would be personal preference, but if it's between Glock and taurus, I'd say Glock because I've had poor experiences w/ the Tauri I've owned.

Onmilo
April 5, 2008, 06:06 PM
I agree.
Between Glock and Taurus, choose the Glock.
Clones are never as good as the original.
So if you were to choose between a Beretta 92FS and a Glock 17 it would hinge on which pistol felt better to you.
Both are comparable in value.

ojdidit
April 5, 2008, 06:24 PM
http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/411534858

mljdeckard
April 5, 2008, 06:28 PM