Target Shooting in NJ for non-residents

PDA

WinkingTiger
April 9, 2008, 05:56 PM
I am a resident of NY state and I have a NYS pistol license.

Where can I go to research the laws regarding target shooting in NJ for non residents?

If you enjoyed reading about "Target Shooting in NJ for non-residents" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Tom488
April 10, 2008, 12:51 AM
Where can I go to research the laws regarding target shooting in NJ for non residents?
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us
On the left, scroll down and find the link to "Statutes". You're interested in Title 2C, Chapter 39. Specifically, 2C:39-5 and 2C:39-6.

Of course, research it yourself, but I'll summarize: It is legal for you to transport pistols, rifles, or shotguns DIRECTLY to an approved target range here in NJ (DIRECTLY means no deviations in course between the state line and said range. No stopping to visit a friend, no stopping at the store to buy ammo/targets, and I'd advise filling/emptying the tank [the vehicle's and your's] prior to crossing the border), provided that the firearms are unloaded, and either locked in the trunk or in locked cases, with the ammunition stored separately.

By "approved range", I'm talking about a rifle/pistol club, or commercial range... not your friend's farm (farms? in NJ? Yeah, they exist)

The firearms and magazines must be NJ-legal, which, for NY'ers, means no pre-ban semi-autos, no semi-auto shotguns with pistol grips, folding stocks, or magazines >6 rounds, and no rifle or pistol magazines >15 rounds.

Oh yeah... welcome to the Garden State :D

WinkingTiger
April 10, 2008, 07:55 AM
Thanks for the info.

I was at a Dick's Sporting Goods once and I asked to look at one of the shotguns.
I showed the clerk my NY Pistol License as well as my hunting license.

He nicely told me that he can't show it to me unless I have a NJ Firearms Identification Card.