CCW questions/thoughts

PDA

Quoheleth
April 17, 2008, 09:41 PM
I've got a little "economic stimulation" that I would like to do. The wife had given me her less-than-enthusiastic blessing (but blessing nonetheless) to pursue a CCW last fall and I'm thinking now is as good a time as any.

I realize that I am very open and I'll get every answer under the sun. Since I'm not a Glock man, let's get that one out of the way right now: "GET A GLOCK." Ok...that's done. No, thanks.

So...I have a SP101: that covers the revolver. Yes, it is heavy, but I got what I wanted in that one.

I'm looking in either the .380 or 9mm caliber.

Simple requirement: I want a nice auto for Sunday under my robes or when I am in my suit. This will be strictly a carry gun, not range plinker. I am a pastor, so I need something that is inconspicuous on SUndays, but managable if the proverbial fertilizer hits the fan like in CO last fall. I'm thinking IWB or pocket carry will be my two primary methods, although an ankle holster might not be out of the question, especially if digging through an alb to get to the weapon becomes burdenson and awkward.

My budget is $250 +/- a little bit.

A couple choices come to mind in the .380. Kel-Tek is a popular choice, based on size, but having held - not fired - the gun, I'm not keen on it. I want to like the Ruger LCP, but having not seen it, let alone held it, I'm not about to plunk down the $$ first. I like the feel of the Bersa Thunder (in .380), and the Taurus Mil-Pro. Are these too large (i.e. thick) for what I have described for carry? My budget kinda eliminates the MPsc and XDsc as well as Walthers and Kahr.

I guess I am asking for guiding thoughts, not so much .380 vs. 9mm, but from those of you who carry and what it is you carry and what you think might work for me based on what I have attempted to describe. Please save the .45 recommendations, Glocks, SIGS, and other high-end guns. FWIW, I'm 6'4", 280lbs.

Q