Any reason to get 12 lb. trigger for Glock?

PDA

newbie4help
April 19, 2008, 02:52 PM
Other than cops/jurisdictions that require it? I'm new to handguns. Does this make it safer? Does it impair its use to any big degree? Harder to be accurate?

http://www.glock.com/english/index_acc.htm

Also how often do you need to change trigger springs, assuming around 200 rounds week of practice shooting?

If you enjoyed reading about "Any reason to get 12 lb. trigger for Glock?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Chipperman
April 19, 2008, 03:04 PM
The 12# trigger is supposed to make it feel more like a revolver. Some people erroneously try to make it into a safety device.

The safety is between your ears. If you should not be pulling the trigger, don't pull the trigger.

Making a trigger pull heavier will not make up for poor handling and safety skills.

Desertscout
April 19, 2008, 03:21 PM
Nope

deercop
April 19, 2008, 03:36 PM
I use the NY1 (8 lbs) trigger spring combined with the "-" (3.5 lbs) connector, for a final weight of 6 lbs. There is resistance from the beginning of the trigger stroke, and it feels almost like a revolver (esp a Colt that "stacks"). I have this same set up in all my Glocks, by choice.

Additionally, the trigger spring is supposedly the "weak link" in the Glock system, some supposedly have broken at 10K-20K rounds. The NY springs eliminate that concern, although frankly I wouldn't be too concerned with it anyway.

Chipperman
April 19, 2008, 03:37 PM
Also how often do you need to change trigger springs, assuming around 200 rounds week of practice shooting?

If this is a gun you depend your life on, maybe change springs every 2 years. If not, replace springs when they break.

10-Ring
April 19, 2008, 04:04 PM
One of my shooting buddies has a G19 w/ the 8# trigger...I'm not a fan. I wouldn't put the 3.5# trigger on it either --- I've kept my G19 stock and it has been great!