More dumb beginners questions.

PDA

coldshot03/04
August 15, 2003, 01:16 PM
How many times can the brass be reloaded? and how long after being fired can I save my brass before reloading it again?:)

If you enjoyed reading about "More dumb beginners questions." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Carlos
August 15, 2003, 01:48 PM
10 times is what I've been told. Keep a close eye out and be sure to keep good track. Some folks load pistol ammo brass more, but I ususally throw em away after 10 reloads.

John Ross
August 15, 2003, 01:54 PM
It depends.

Revolver brass can go 10+ loadings before little cracks at the case mouth develop, generally from the heavy crimp/uncrimp cycle. Pistol brass will probably go longer but I have little experience here.

Neck-sized only rifle brass fired in the same bolt gun can go over 100 loadings.

Read your manuals and learn how to detect impending head separation in rifle brass, and how to avoid it in the first place. Too long for me to explain here.

JR

dandean316
August 15, 2003, 02:15 PM
I've been told 20 times for pistol brass, especially if using light loads.

Jeeper
August 15, 2003, 02:23 PM
I have always lost the pistol brass before it went bad. John was right about rifle. Read on how to detect head seperation in a manual.

coldshot03/04
August 15, 2003, 02:24 PM
Cool!Thanks.:)

EchoSixMike
August 15, 2003, 02:26 PM
It depends. As has been said, revolver stuff tends to last a long time, neck sized rifle brass the same. I used to can my M14 brass after 4 reloads due to the large # of case head seperations after that.

BTW, the only dumb newbie reloading question is "Why'd the gun blow up?" S/F...Ken M

coldshot03/04
August 15, 2003, 02:27 PM
:) ;)

August 15, 2003, 02:39 PM
I load handgun brass until it is either obviously flawed, or I lost it.