Oil/lubricant when trimming?


PDA






bensdad
April 27, 2008, 12:06 AM
Another noob question... do you guys use some sort of oil or lubricant when trimming brass?

If you enjoyed reading about "Oil/lubricant when trimming?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
scrat
April 27, 2008, 12:15 AM
Yep but then it depends on what type of trim system you use. i use a lee trimmer. The stud part is really tight after sizing your brass. So i put some imperial sizing wax on the stud so i dont get any stuck cases on it. i have had a few in the past get stuck and seems like the only way to get them off is with a small bastard file then a pair of plyers. you would file it down until you can get a piece of it up then peel it back.

bensdad
April 27, 2008, 12:21 AM
I've been trimming before sizing. Is that wrong?

By oil or lubricant, I meant on the cutting surface or the material to be cut. I was thinking it might save wear on the cutting blades.

Ol` Joe
April 27, 2008, 12:25 AM
Always trim after resizing. The brass displaced by the sizing operation flows foreward and is much of the growth you see in your cases.

scrat
April 27, 2008, 12:29 AM
yep always trim after sizing. if you measure a case trim it. Then measure it. then size it then measure it you will see it is longer once you trim it. brass expands outwards. when you size it the brass is pushed inwards and normally pushed from the base. The brass has to go somewhere and it usually gets longer towards the mouth.

bensdad
April 27, 2008, 12:38 AM
Thanks guys. You fixed a problem I didn't know I had! :o

So, a little oil on the cutting head or not? I suppose the brass is so much softer than the blades it wouldn't matter.

lordgroom
April 27, 2008, 01:15 AM
Trim after sizing. No lubricant for trimming.

Idano
April 27, 2008, 02:12 AM
I've been trimming before sizing. Is that wrong?

bensdad,

If you are resizing with the RCBS X-Die you need trim first because with the X-Die set up properly if the case length isn't .020" below minimum trim length you'll crush the shoulder.

Jacka L Ope
April 27, 2008, 06:39 AM
do you guys use some sort of oil or lubricant when trimming brass?

No. I re-size, trim, then verify by case length/headspace gauge.

Cheers! http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a62/lakcaJLOpe/beerchug.gif

Walkalong
April 27, 2008, 09:38 AM
If the mandrel is real tight, I use a little Imperial on it, but usually, I just polish the mandrel so it isn't. ;)

The Bushmaster
April 27, 2008, 10:27 AM
Lube case (if rifle)...Resize/decap...Measure...Trim if needed (no oil)...Measure and stow or reload

rcmodel
April 27, 2008, 12:00 PM
I just polish the mandrel so it isn't.+1

There should be no need to use lube on a trimmer pilot.

If it's too big, fix it.

rcmodel

If you enjoyed reading about "Oil/lubricant when trimming?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!