Lee Classic turret die problem

PDA

isuace
April 28, 2008, 12:46 PM
Ok, so being a newbie I don't know if I set something up wrong or if I'm just doing something wrong.
This is the problem that I'm having. On the decapper/sizing die and the Factory Crimp Die, the case will often (95%+ of the time) hit the bottom of the die and I will have to push it back slightly in order for it to move up inside of the die. The other two dies (powder die and bullet seating die) work fine, they never get caught up. I have tried orienting the case holder in different directions and always try to put the case as far back as possible so that it wont get caught up.
Am I doing something wrong, or is there an adjustment I should make? Manually adjusting the cases on these two steps really slows down the process.
TIA

If you enjoyed reading about "Lee Classic turret die problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
tac_driver
April 28, 2008, 01:04 PM
did you read the die instructions? The decapper die if it is carbide it is not suppose to touch when the handle is in the down position. I have mine set and 1/32" from touching the shell holder.
It sounds like you are having a indexing problem. Put the ram half way up the indexing rod, then turn the turret untill it locks in on a die station. Put the handle in the up position and it should lock on the next die position.

Grandpa Shooter
April 28, 2008, 01:06 PM
Are you using it as a progressive or rotating the turret by hand? It sounds to me as though you are rotating it abruptly and the brass is leaning a little because of it. You also should check if the surface the press is mounted on is level front to back and side to side.

You also don't mention if it is pistol or rifle and what brand dies you are using.

jsconnelly
April 28, 2008, 02:06 PM