Ever shoot less calibers/guns because of reloading?

PDA

dandean316
August 19, 2003, 04:49 PM
Ok, let me say I am a newbie to reloading. Let’s get that out of the way.

Have any of you ever reduced the number of calibers you shoot because of reloading? My guess is people actually add more calibers because of reloading – the .41 mag comes to mind – way too expensive for factory ammo.

The reason I ask is because of reloading I can now shoot full house +P .45’s at 1100 fps, yet at the same time go real light to get that 9mm feel that my wife has no problem shooting.

I'm just kind of curious since I am starting to see no need for my 2 9mm’s. Looking for thoughts on this.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ever shoot less calibers/guns because of reloading?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bacchus
August 19, 2003, 05:07 PM
What I have found is that I tend to shoot the calibers for which I reload, probably due to the cost savings. For example, I shoot a lot of 38s since I can reload them easily and cheaply. I hardly shoot the calibers for which I don't reload.

C.R.Sam
August 19, 2003, 08:34 PM
Ever shoot less calibers/guns because of reloading?
Nope...just need more space for presses n dies n componants n stuff.

Sam

HankL
August 19, 2003, 08:55 PM
40 or so sets of dies around here boss. I do have more than on set of dies for the same caliber on a few though. I have found it to be easier to gear up and load several hundred rounds at the time for my less fired guns. I have found that when I load up several hundred rounds of 7x61 S&H, the neglected old Winchester 70 that Harry McGowen built up becomes one of my most fired guns. ;) Go figure.

Phil in Seattle
August 19, 2003, 09:15 PM
I wouldn't have a 444 Marlin if I didn't reload, probably no 41 magnums either. 45Colt would probably be out too.

larryw
August 19, 2003, 10:04 PM