Smith 22a scope question


PDA






Jrob24
May 20, 2008, 06:13 PM
I'm planning to get a 30mm scope for a model 22A, but I need to know which scope rings are compatible. The ones I just got from S&W are too narrow to fit on the rail. Any help would be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "Smith 22a scope question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BSlacker
May 20, 2008, 07:15 PM
It takes a Weaver rail most Picatinny you should check out closely.
Here are some pics with the pitfall of the rail system.
In the first picture the cheap red dot has a built in mount. Because of the way the rail is made with the obstruction, that is what I call it, the mount on the red dot has to be ground away in this area. The other side fits with some angle to the clamp. Some dots will need the rail slots opened up as well.
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-1/1128723/22amount.JPG
For scope use with single mounts it works better. The obstruction is easier to avoid.
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-1/1128723/22anumber2.JPG
In this one you can see where the mount is near the obstruction as I call it and the mount won't fit over these so that space is wasted. Good Luck :)

asknight
May 21, 2008, 12:56 AM
Regular Weaver-type 30mm rings are what you're looking for, not rimfire tip-off types.

Jrob24
May 21, 2008, 12:23 PM
UPDATE

I just talked to S&W again and they said I would have to file the rail so the rings can fit. Can someone please explain how to properly do this. I don't want to mess this up.

asknight
May 21, 2008, 12:36 PM
Don't file the rail! You'll devalue the pistol and possibly ruin it.

STANDARD Weaver-style rings work just fine. I don't know what rings they sent you, but they're OUT OF SPEC if it requires you to file ANYTHING to make them fit.

Rex B
May 21, 2008, 01:46 PM
The problem I have with mine is in fitting a cheap red-dot. Seems the stock range of movement fore/aft of the mounting screws does not match up with the cross-slots in the rail. You have to either lengthen the adjustment slots in the scope mount, or mill additional cross-slots in the rail.
Or get a better scope with separate rings.
Or settle for sub-optimal scope mounting.

asknight
May 21, 2008, 02:56 PM
Rex B, I've noticed that on the cheap red dots as well. Not all of them have a recoil lug in each ring, but if they do, you can guarantee it won't fit ANY one piece base out there.

The BSA red dots that I've seen only have a recoil lug in one ring, so it doesn't matter what type of rail you have, it'll mount up. The Tascos with integrated rings have a recoil lug in each ring, and I've seen a lot of people hacking up their bases and firearms just to mount the cheap sucker. :cuss:

Jrob24
June 6, 2008, 11:40 PM
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=79546&stc=1&d=1212806361

http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=79546&stc=1&d=1212806361

Millet SP1 :cool:

Soybomb
July 24, 2008, 06:22 PM
The BSA red dots that I've seen only have a recoil lug in one ring, so it doesn't matter what type of rail you have, it'll mount up.
Forgive the old thread bump but does that mean the BSA red dots from walmart and the like with the integrated mount should go on without hassle?

asknight
July 24, 2008, 06:28 PM
Soybomb, it's been my experience that "Yes" they will mount on the 22A/S rails without problem.

Soybomb
July 24, 2008, 06:36 PM
Great! I've read about a lot of people having a hard time with grinding and integrated mounts so I thought I'd play it safe before buying.

Soybomb
July 26, 2008, 06:28 PM
Just in case anyone is in the same boat and wondering the $30 bsa red dot that walmart is selling today has 2 recoil lugs so to my understanding it is the type that will need to be modified.

If you enjoyed reading about "Smith 22a scope question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!