My ignorance(AKA, how was I allowed to graduate High School?)

PDA

priv8ter
January 13, 2003, 07:45 AM
Okay. Let me start this out by saying that I have always thought of myself as a pretty intelligent guy(but don't we all?). I was a nuclear trained mechanic for the US Navy(A program with a high failure rate), and while I didn't go to college, I'm fairly well read.

Then, I start reading Unintended Consequences.

Oh My God.

I stand here before you embaressed to admit that 2 weeks ago, I had never heard of the 'Bonus Army'. Until I looked it up on the internet, I thought it might be something Mr. Ross had made up.
When I gave a run down of events to my wife, she called me a liar, until I showed her websites on the Net that had President Hoovers speaches after the events.

I had no idea of what Joe Kennedy once did, about his Prohibition activities, or that he backed the Germans during WWII. I had always thought of him as JFK's dad!

The description of the actions of the ATF in the Lawmaster raid, and the raid against Ken Ballew I thought was fiction, until I looked it up and found a copy of Ballew's lawsuit against the government.

In the last 2 years, I have learned a lot from The Firing Line, and Mr. Volks A-human-right.com website. I hope to keep learning more here. A few years ago, I was an Elk hunter, wo if push came to shove would have said, 'Well, I'm not sure we really need semi-auto's, or 10 round magazines.'

Now, well, my wife up until a few days ago, would roll her eyes when I went on one of my rant's against the government, and their unchecked removal of our civil liberties. But now, she's started reading Uninteded Consequences, and she doesn't roll her eyes anymore.

I can see now why they say that Ignorance is Bliss.