Wolf ammo...how good/bad?

PDA

fins831
June 15, 2008, 12:29 AM
How good/bad does this ammo work for your gun? Not sure if I should trust it or not...

If you enjoyed reading about "Wolf ammo...how good/bad?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
chris in va
June 15, 2008, 12:38 AM
I've read a lot of people having problems with Wolf in their handguns. Works fine with rifle ammo in an AK or SKS though.

JLBennett
June 15, 2008, 01:28 AM
I regularly use Wolf ammo in various rifle calibers... 303, 223, 7.62X39, 7.62X54R and have never had any problems. Sometimes it seems a little dirtier than other commercial brands but not always. In pistol calibers, I've had equally good results with the .30 for the M1 Carbine, the 9X18 Makarov, and the 7.62X25. I've been using Wolf for about 3 years with no FTF, pressure issues, or notable accuracy concerns. Can't speak to the 9mm, .40, or .45 however but I would expect similar good performance.

TAB
June 15, 2008, 01:30 AM
I would not shoot it if it was given to me.

Sir Aardvark
June 15, 2008, 01:59 AM
Wolf ammo used to be "formulated" different in that it had a lacquer coating. This lacquer coating would sometimes cause build-up in the chambers of some guns, thus causing feeding/extraction problems, leading to a poor reputation for this ammo. This has since been resolved because nearly all of it now comes polymer-coated.

Also, the steel cases are not popular at most shooting ranges, with some places (mostly indoor ranges that sell the brass to reloaders) actually banning the use of any Wolf ammo.

Some people have reported a lot of carbon build-up in chambers that can also cause feeding/extraction problems, and they also say that Wolf ammo is very "dirty" and even smells funny.

You need to keep in mind that all Wolf ammo is loaded according to SAAMI specs, so safety should not be a concern.