22 diamondback

PDA

russ45
July 13, 2008, 10:34 AM
I just started shooting this 22 diamondback, and am experiencing light primer strikes on 1 or 2 out of 6 cartridges in double action, using 5 different brands of high velocity ammunition. Cartridges usually fire on the second strike. Single action is just fine. My semiauto shoots the same cartridges without any failures. The revolver is new, and I can't see anything wrong. Action is smooth, and I don't think heavier springs are available for this model. I am thinking there may be cartridges available with softer primers. Any ideas?

If you enjoyed reading about "22 diamondback" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
SaxonPig
July 13, 2008, 11:11 AM
1. Thoroughly clean the gun. Gummy old grease, grit, dirt, etc can hamper the action.

2. If that doesn't do it, someone may have monkeyed with the hammer spring in a Home-brewed action job and it may need replacing.

22-rimfire
July 13, 2008, 11:30 AM
I would give it a very good cleaning. If you are not comfortable with doing it, take it to a gunsmith. The gunsmith may also have some thoughts on the light hits on the primers. Be careful choosing who works on the gun beyond cleaning it. The gun is worth fixing.

russ45
July 13, 2008, 11:39 AM
I know the history of this gun, and it is the original action. I already tried the thorough cleaning. I suppose the spring could be removed and bent out some more in an attempt to make the hammer strike heavier. I have a 38 Agent carry gun that probably has had an action job, and it won't fire anything reliably in double action except with a Federal primer, so I thought maybe softer primered 22 cartridges may be available, maybe is target loads or something. I have fired less than 100 rounds in this. Maybe a few hundred more will help. Thanks for the reply.

dispatch
July 13, 2008, 03:03 PM
Trade it for a S&W Model 18.

SaxonPig
July 13, 2008, 03:11 PM