S & W 627 .357 8-times

PDA

jackslayer
July 17, 2008, 02:19 AM
I'm new to revolvers and this one caught my attention. I live in Califonia and so I'm limited to ten rounds with an automatic so even if i chamer a round i'm only loosing three. Looking for a gun for occasional range shooting and home defense. That said i would like to get into reloading and it seems to me a .357 without having to pick up the casings would be a great start. I also don't anticipate getting a second revolver any time soon and so splurging a bit seems fitting to me:D. Could i get some reviews and additional info?

Are they hard to find used/gun show?

Worth the money?

Available in other than 4 and 5 inch barrels?

How does it shoot etc?

If you enjoyed reading about "S & W 627 .357 8-times" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Shade00
July 17, 2008, 02:48 AM
IMHO a 627 is a fine choice. You will also have the option of shooting .38 specials in a .357 if you need cheaper practice ammo and are not reloading yet. The 627 was offered in 6" and I believe special order 6 1/2" barrels through Lew Horton. The ideal model for you would be either the 627-2 or 627-3, as these are pre-lock models and are also 8-shot. The 627 and 627-1 are 6-shot revolvers. Anything after the 627-3 has an internal lock.

pps
July 17, 2008, 03:15 AM
Stellar gun. This has become my favorite to shoot.

Very accurate.

http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l96/pps_2006/target.jpg

ArchAngelCD
July 17, 2008, 03:55 AM
Too bad there is a lock on the new Pro model or I would buy it. I like the idea of 8 rounds of .357 Magnum on full moon clips!!

pps
July 17, 2008, 03:58 AM
The lock is easily remedied. Now I just need to get some stainless steel rod, have it lathed to size and interference fit it to plug the Klinton Hole.

Stainz
July 17, 2008, 05:57 AM