Need some help choosing a CCW revolver...

PDA

jcalys
July 22, 2008, 02:30 AM
So, I'm fairly new to guns. I just picked up my first handgun, a SIG P226 in .40. The problem is, the SIG seems a little on the big and hefty size for daily carry in the hot weather.

I'm definitely hooked on firearms and already saving up for my next purchase. I like the Smith 386 Night Guard a lot. I like the fixed sights and night sites in the front, the reduced weight sounds good for concealed carry (I'm not all that sensitive to recoil). I was wondering if anyone here had one and if they liked it. Is it worth the extra money over the 2.5" 686?

Any suggestions on revolvers I should look into?
Here's my wish list:
-.357, maybe a .38
- concealable, and somewhat comfortable
- fixed sights would be nice
- I like the L-frame size, unless its too big to conceal, a K or J would do
- durable, I'm unsure about the long term durability of scandium frames
- exposed hammer, would consider "bodyguard" style hammer
- I'd prefer a Smith (maybe a Colt), I've shot SP-101's and Gp-100's and they weren't for me
- Money is an issue, but I'm willing to save up for the right gun

I'm not married to the "wish list", they're just my ideas. Any suggestions from any of you experienced revolver shooters would be very much appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "Need some help choosing a CCW revolver..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dasmi
July 22, 2008, 02:35 AM
Well, I was going to suggest an SP-101, but you disqualified them. How about a short K Frame Smith?

jcalys
July 22, 2008, 02:56 AM
I shouldn't have "disqualified" the SP-101. The only one I shot was a rental and was DAO, a feature I really don't care for. The grip on that particular gun was stock but old and slick rubber. I probably need to find another one and give it another go round.

Shade00
July 22, 2008, 03:24 AM