Anyone keep a Range Log?

PDA

Sackett
July 24, 2008, 04:05 AM
Noticed that many of the folks here (and elsewhere) know how many rounds they've fired through a particular gun. Are they pulling it out of the air, or is it common to take notes after a range session?

If you keep a log, what goes into it? What's your motivation for doing so?

If this is too geeky please forgive me, I am an Engineer (and a Private Pilot who keeps a logbook).

S.

If you enjoyed reading about "Anyone keep a Range Log?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Sgt.Dusk
July 24, 2008, 04:10 AM
Im a geeky engineer too and I keep a logbook of shooting.
I usually log date and spent rounds/gun.....
What's your motivation for doing so?
I honestly dont know...maybe its just fun to see some statistics

I also keep a separate log of my new reloads and how they perfom

Regolith
July 24, 2008, 07:03 AM
No. I haven't gotten to the point where I think it'd do me any good.

HiWayMan
July 24, 2008, 07:29 AM
Not so geeky engineer here, but engineer all the same. Below is an outline of the only logbook I have and probably the only one I'll maintain.

Started keeping a log book for my newest .45 the day I got her. Everything pertaining to that serial numbered gun is in there. Original cost and accessories purchased as well as any major work outside of routine maintanence done. It also contains a log of magazines and number and types of malfs experienced with each mag. Lists all ammo shot by brand and lot numbers, sight settings, match scores and a host of other general notes. General notes may include hand position on grip, grip pressure, shotting stance, etc. I'll even log plinking sessions, although ttthose notes usually just say plinking and have a round count and ammo lot associated with them.