marbles knives

PDA

mio
July 26, 2008, 01:24 AM
anybody had experiance with thier hunting knives, and if so how do you rate them for the price range?

If you enjoyed reading about "marbles knives" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Mongrel
July 26, 2008, 10:39 AM
I saw this sitting here unanswered so figured I'd toss in a penny.

NOTE: I have no first-hand experience with Marbles so what I type has been gathered over the years from the testimony of others.

Marbles have a long and very respected history of knifemaking going back to probably the turn of the *last* century (have to keep reminding myself of that). These were the Russell Green River Works knives of the early 1900s.

Well made, good materials, dependable. Don't know if they were the first 'modern' knives to use a convex edge or not but they were definately in that game early on.

As far as I have heard modern Marbles have continued that tradition as well as any other production knifemakers and for the money are still a good blade.

One thing for sure is that there is much greater competition today, so I wouldn't say you could'nt find something else as good or even better for the money.

I've always been a fan of the old-school Marbles looking hunting knives so I'm a little biased.

I'm sure someone will be able to add a more personal look at them soon.

Take care

Piraticalbob
July 26, 2008, 06:48 PM
When Marbles decided to make a comeback about 10 years ago, they hired Mike Stewart, former CEO of Blackjack Knives, to be their go-to knife guy. He brought the old patterns back (Woodcraft, Bird & Trout, Ideal, etc) and designed some new ones base on them (Fieldcraft, Plainsman), all of them utilizing quality steels such as 52100 and good sheaths. Mike has moved on to his own company now (Bark River Knives) but I haven't heard of any fall-off in Marbles quality.