XDSC - Trade in or Upgrade for NS

PDA

tyserj
August 1, 2008, 03:55 PM
Several questions here...

The gun is an XD9SC (Which I love) standard sights. I have been carrying this gun concealed for many months now since I got my permit. I love the gun, have great holster(s) for it and have no problems with the gun or the form factor or the size. I would like to stay with this gun.

I have been experimenting with shooting in dusk or under artificial light lately. The white dots usually work very well, during daylight, and under direct artificial light. However I find myself carrying in situations with low ambient light at night, and when experimenting shooting with these situations, I find it takes me much longer to sight in on what i'm shooting at.. much longer to "find" the sights from draw, than normal. It is upsetting and I fear that in a self defense situation I could have trouble getting ready in time, or worse, miss my target and hit something I dont want to.

Thusly, I think I need night-sights.

So my main question is:

Do I Trade in the gun for the same gun with trijicon 3-dot sights, or do I sent my gun into springfield for the "combat" upgrade? It is 220$ which includes trigger job and overall test of pistol function, as well as the cost of the nightsights and fitment on the gun.

So some additional questions:

How much would it be worth on trade in to buy the new one with NS? It is about 6 months old and has 1100 Rounds through it.

Is it worth the 220$ for the combat job?

How does one go about sending guns off for work like that? Do I need to go through my FFL to send it, or to recieve it when done? (including probably paying them the FFL transfer fee?)

Thanks for reading I hope somebody can help me figure out what to do next.

If you enjoyed reading about "XDSC - Trade in or Upgrade for NS" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
skinewmexico
August 1, 2008, 06:17 PM