Problem with Lee .223 bullet seating die

PDA

Z-Michigan
August 1, 2008, 11:54 PM
OK, while I've done a moderate amount of handgun reloading, I'm just starting out with rifle (bottleneck case) reloading, with .223 Remington. I have the Lee deluxe die set, but am using only the resizing and seating dies for now. I am using RP/UMC cases and 55gr FMJ cannelured Remington bullets.

I seem to have the resizing die working (first time I used it the expander got pulled out - even though I had lubed case necks inside). However, I went to try the seating die, with a case that had been resized but neither primed nor charged, and I had this problem: following the instructions, I screw in the seating die (itself) until I feel it touch the case mouth. Then I back out 1/2 turn to avoid a crimp. Now I screw in the bullet seating plug to try and seat the bullet. Nothing happens. I finally screw in the seating plug all the way, and even with that the bullet is seated way too long - there is easily 5mm between the case mouth and the cannelure. No good. So, realizing this isn't how the instructions said, I try screwing in the die body some in case I didn't have it right. I do this with baby steps, leaving the seating plug all the way in, and get the bullet seated slightly deeper, then on another attempt I feel a crunch and find the whole case has been crushed just below the shoulder. Yet the bullet is still seated too long, with about 4mm between the mouth and the cannelure.

I'm guessing that my seating die is somehow defective - probably the seating plug is way too short. I disassembled it and found the seating plug is in fact slightly shorter than the recess for it in the screw-top that adjusts the seating plug. However, I don't own any other rifle dies (Lee or otherwise) to compare to for what the normal plug length is. Of course I may also not have things adjusted right, but I obviously need some advice. What can you tell me?