Violent Neighbor - No Police Protection - What do I do?

PDA

will500
August 13, 2008, 07:11 PM
Hello all, this is my first time on this forum. I do not own a gun, yet. Excuse me if I rant a bit...

I am about to become a first time gun owner, though I have fired many guns of various types and understand how to fire one properly.

I live in a small apartment complex. Recently we have had new down stairs neighbors move in, young "jock" party types. We didn't mind the noise at first but the pot smoke seeping into our apartment was too much.

I once heard the violent one that lives there, what sounded like beating a woman or something, and had to call the police. I couldn't let my wife leave as the guy had lost control slamming around the house.

The cops did nothing... "keep it down"...

On the 4th of July, at mid-night, 11:50pm or so, he decided (the violent one) that it would be a good idea to blast music.

I pounded on the floor. (Apartment talk for "keep it down")

He cranked it up louder. I went down there to ask what the hell was his problem.

The guy flipped out completely, like roid rage style. He was talking about how if I ever called the cops again he would kick my ass (I guess because we called the cops when he may have been beating a woman) and blah blah. He then went on ranting and calling names and all of that. I closed and locked the door as the guy was out of his mind. He then started banging on the door and trying to open the handle to get inside... and do something violent I am sure.

I... lied... to him and told him I had a gun pointed at the door, to back away and the cops have been called.

He continued to scream and rant like a mad man and then ran off in his car before the cops came. Funny how three cops come when they know a gun is involved but once they realize no one is hurt they have zero care. They only asked, "How tall was he?" and left.