NYPD and Mossberg

PDA

Dave Williams
August 24, 2008, 01:31 PM
Somehow I missed the news that NYPD adopted the Mossberg 590A1 for the rank and file Officers. The NYPD ESU and the Detectives have had shotguns available but I believe this is the first time that line Officers in NYPD have had shotguns.

I read in a Mossberg publication that the specs are: 14" barrel, 13 7/8" LOP, 3 dot adjustable night sights, Federal ammunition.

http://www.mossberg.com/press/pdf/49.pdf

Anyone got anymore scoop?

Another LE Agency spending a boatload of money on the venerable gauge. Hmmmmmmm.

Dave Williams

If you enjoyed reading about "NYPD and Mossberg" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
fatdaddycoe
August 24, 2008, 03:19 PM
To the best of my knowledge, your information is incorrect. I am an NYPD officer and we are not issued shotguns, nor have I heard that we will be, and I am assigned to a special disorder control unit. Because New York's poulation density is so high, most of our equipment and tactics are geared towards total civilian safety. Hence, almost no vehicle pursuits are allowed and we shoot nine millimeters with a twelve pound trigger pull. I doubt the higher-ups would decide a shotgun fit into their idea of operational safety.

Having written that, I would sure be happy to be wrong.

HB
August 24, 2008, 03:34 PM
I read that too, seems like a lot of extra junk for a duty shotgun. Well I guess the first hand info is the proof though. Although I'm pretty sure a 12 gauge with buck will penetrate less that a 9mm and won't go as far if you send a shot bouncing down the street.

Fred Fuller
August 24, 2008, 03:36 PM
Text of the press release linked above:
=========================

Safety and safe firearms is everyone’s responsibility.

PRESS RELEASE Contact:

O.F. Mossberg & Sons, Inc. KIM CAHALAN
7 Grasso Ave ~ North Haven, CT 06473 Media Relations