O/U and SBS prices

PDA

shevrock
September 1, 2008, 04:22 PM
Why are over unders and side by sides so expensive?

If you enjoyed reading about "O/U and SBS prices" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
blitzen
September 1, 2008, 04:42 PM
I'm no expert but I think that the good ones are very labor intensive to build.

oneounceload
September 1, 2008, 05:26 PM
Both require more hand-fitting, hand regulating of the barrel assemblies, and sideocks require more hand-intensive inletting and finishing....(and I'm not talking about the really cheap SXS or O/U)

The higher end guns usually have some really well-executed hand engraving as well as having a beautiful balance to them

shevrock
September 1, 2008, 05:36 PM
What's the price of the basic ones [that are still good. but no engraving and such]?

TexasRifleman
September 1, 2008, 06:39 PM
Academy has the Yildiz line of shotguns, both O/U and SxS.

I have a 20ga OU and I'm going to look at their SxS for my son.

They are budget but quite serviceable. I paid 399 for the OU 20 last year.

400-600 range from what I understand but I haven't seen the pricing on the SxS, its not on their website.

oneounceload
September 1, 2008, 10:30 PM
price is relative, IMO, to overall quality

a nice Spanish SXS, like AYA, are 3,500 to 5,000 for their 4/53 or their #2

Used older American guns like Fox, Lefever, Parker, et al can be had for anywhere from 500-5,000 and up

more modern SXS like SKB, Browning (Japan), Savage/Fox - 700-2500

I have no personal experience with the Russian or Turkish guns; that being said, I shoot regularly with folks who do own then - their general consensus is the same - for a little hunting, they should do OK - for serious clay or high volume shooting, they do not recommend them....again, just what my friends have said....I am sure others will have glowing reports on them

shevrock
September 1, 2008, 10:35 PM