Can you reload for Glock 40sw


PDA






KodeFore
September 12, 2008, 05:47 AM
The Richard Lee reloading manual under 40sw warns not to use reloads in Glock or Glock style guns, is this a valid concern or Over cautious?

If you enjoyed reading about "Can you reload for Glock 40sw" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Shibumi
September 12, 2008, 06:09 AM
Dumb.

Millions of reloads have gone downrange from Glock .40's, I am responsible for about 1000 myself. I own a Gen 3 G23, the chamber is as fully supported as aftermarket barrels now, which wasn't the case in maybe the 80's and 90's in Glocks. Load to specs in the manuals and you'll be fine.

shovel66
September 12, 2008, 06:43 AM
I too, have fired thousands of my own FMJ reloads through my Glock 27 without any problems. I make sure I'm doing it right, within limits, and take my time. (as I do with the other 3 calibers I currently load for)
Don't be scared..... be cautious and careful.
Shovel

trickyasafox
September 12, 2008, 06:22 PM
I shoot reloads through a g23 all the time. who can afford factory 40sw nowadays?

Deanimator
September 12, 2008, 07:11 PM
I just bought cut rifling barrels for my Glock 19 and Glock 22, expressly for the purpose of reloading lead bullets. If I didn't mind loading jacketed bullets I wouldn't have even bothered.

mb419
September 12, 2008, 08:51 PM
Same here. Have put 3000 reloads downrange with no problems. All have been FMJ though, no lead.

PaulTX
September 12, 2008, 10:30 PM
I've even reloaded .40 cases fired by - Glocks! I think I've come across one or two cases that have a bulge at the base at 6 o'clock but don't remember if they were fired in a Glock.

Paul

SDGlock23
September 12, 2008, 11:46 PM
It's idiotic. To add, all manufacturers say not to shoot reloads in their guns, so yes, this guy is a dunce.

870
September 20, 2008, 10:51 AM
I have shot my reloads in a G35 and a G17.

My IPSC/IDPA 40S&W load is

4.6gr?TiteGroup under a 180gr Frontier CMJ.

shovel66
September 20, 2008, 11:30 AM
I too, am over the 1k mark of my own reloads through a 3rd Gen G27. As all have stated above me, be as safe as you would loading any other caliber.
Shovel

DWARREN123
September 20, 2008, 12:14 PM
I have reloaded over 5,000 rounds for a GEN III Glock 23 and 27 with no problems. It is a CYA type deal. I used the fired brass from the Glocks I reloaded for and have had no problems what so ever.:D

Waldog
September 21, 2008, 09:57 AM
Glocks have a large chamber and fired 40 S&W cases have a distinct "bulge" in front of the extractor groove on the case. Not to worry! Full length sizing USUALLY takes the bulge out. HOWEVER, I have found Glock'd cases that would not chamber in my H&K after normal full length sizing. I then switched over to an "undersize" sizing die that takes the Glock'd bulge out of the case and have never had chambering problems.

You can get an "undersized" die from www.egw-guns.com. I highly recommend.

YES, you can reload Glock brass. Start reloading and enjoy your Glock MORE!

dakotasin
September 21, 2008, 11:53 AM
all my guns shoot my handloads exclusively.

all my 40's shoot the same exact load.

one of my 40's is a glock 35.

evan price
September 21, 2008, 08:18 PM
4.7 of Titegroup and a 180-grain TC in a Glock 22 is a very nice load.

Jimfern
September 22, 2008, 12:28 PM
I have been saving my brass for a while and got a good deal on some 180 bullets, but have been worried about reloading problems too.

My original plan was to get a 357 SIG barrel and reload that way, but I think I will try reloading a few rounds for the 40 and see how it goes. I will stay mid to low on the power levels.

Hoping to get out to the range this week, so I'll post back with my results.

Thanks.

everallm
September 22, 2008, 12:43 PM
Glock + stock hexagonal rifled barrel + lead bullets not a particularly good idea, fast lead build up has been regularly reported.

FMJ/JHP etc no reason not to

trickyasafox
September 22, 2008, 12:55 PM
I should point out my g23 is a gen 2.5- I think it was made in 97 when I looked it up.

jjohnson
September 22, 2008, 03:19 PM
Yep, thousands of rounds of reloads downrange in my G35, all but a box or two of them handloads. I shoot both "plated" and lead, no extreme leading found on this end so far. Accuracy? The G35 is more accurate than I am, so if there's a difference, it's less than I've been able to see. If I were really concerned about it, I'd buy a Storm Lake or someone else's "cut rifling" barrel, but haven't seen a need for it as yet.

ronnieevans40
September 22, 2008, 05:59 PM
I have never ever heard of this Glock factor. I use reloads in mine with no problems....

EBRDude
September 23, 2008, 08:50 AM
FWIW, I reload for my G20, but I use an aftermarket barrel. The stock barrel will allow my case heads to expand past .433, where the aftermarket barrel will not go past .425
You can reload for a stock barrel, but understand you are working the brass a lot. It becomes brittle the more you work it, and sooner or later there could be an issue. Lower pressure loads should alleviate this to a degree.

Jimfern
September 23, 2008, 08:47 PM
Went to the range today with reloaded Federal brass with CCI 500 primers, 9 gr. of AA #7 and some Hornady 180gr and Sierra 180gr hollow points. Worked like a charm and I still have all my fingers. I tried these at 7 yards and found them to be very accurate compared to the CCI cheap stuff I have been using lately.

I measured the brass just ahead of the case head and noticed that on the once fired brass I get .432 and on the twice fired I got .434. I should have tried to find all my brass, but wasn't able to, so take those measurements with a gr of salt.

whatnickname
January 12, 2009, 04:57 PM
Part of the problem that Richard Lee has encountered may have to do with the 40S&W in the Glock as well as the use of lead bullets. You never want to attempt to shoot lead bullets in a Glock. The fouling can be really bad to the point that pressures run dangerously high. Other than these factors I have had no problems reloading fro my Glock model 19. I just stick with jacketed bullets.

The following is from one of my other posts: ...I've run into this myself. You didn't mention the source of your brass. If you are using once fired range brass or once fired brass from some other source, it is possible that some of your brass may have been originally fired in a Glock. You can recognize brass that has been fired in a Glock pistol by the distinctive mark made on the primer by the striker...V-shaped firing pin indention surrounded by a retangular pertrusion. Glocks are very good pistols but the design of the pistol in the 40 S&W chambering doesn't fully support the case head. This sometimes results in the deformation of the brass just in front of the case head; known as the web area of the case. With very hot loads, the deformation can be so severe that the resizing die will be unable to return the case to a dimension that will permit chambering after subsequent reloadings. People attempting to fire reloads in their 40 S&W Glocks have occasionally had the case head blow out completely, with reloaded ammunition, sending sufficient gas pressure and burning gunpowder downward through the magazine well with enough force to completely blow the magazine out of the pistol causing damage. If you research this subject on the web, you will see some folks refering to this problem as a "Ka-boom" or KB for short. BTW...Glock doesn't regard this issue as a problem, as their pistols are intended to be used with good quality, new, factory ammunition. Most manufacturers take the position that the use of re-loaded ammunition voids the factory warranty. I might also add that the "Kaboom" problem occurs very rarely, if at all, with new factory ammunition. Hope this helps.

GHS

rcmodel
January 12, 2009, 05:08 PM
http://www.thehighroad.org/showpost.php?p=5238194&postcount=8

rc

If you enjoyed reading about "Can you reload for Glock 40sw" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!