Reloading Brass Fired in a Fluted Chamber :Reply from RCBS


PDA






243winxb
September 16, 2008, 03:35 PM
Reply from RCBS my thought would be to not use the brass for reloading. My
reasoning is that most often the rounds were fired in a H&K semi-auto or
full-auto firearm (or para-military look alike). The flutes in the
chamber are to ease the extraction forces of the hot case and lessen how
tight it adheres to the chamber wall, that puts stress on the brass at
each flute. That sort of stress is not seen in a normal chamber since
they don't have the flutes and to what extent that will effect case
performance and longevity are an unknown.

Case preparation will take time in that each case will need to be sized,
trimmed to length, primer pocket swaged (most likely with military
cases) and then fireformed to remove the flute dents. The amount of
reloads available after that is an unknown and if a case fails it would
most likely not be at the normal web-failure point, but rather at a
flute. Case failures and escaping gas at 50,000 psi is not a good thing
to have happen.

My suggestion would be to take a hammer, crush each case and sell as
scrap brass. Take that money and buy new 308 Winchester brass.

Shoot Straight!
Coy Getman
2299 Snake River Ave.
Lewiston, ID 83501
Sr. Technical Coordinator
(866) 286-7436 ext 5351

If you enjoyed reading about "Reloading Brass Fired in a Fluted Chamber :Reply from RCBS" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NavajoNPaleFace
September 16, 2008, 03:50 PM
I have a CETME and from what I have been told and read that's about the size of it.

I do know from experience that reloading brass fired in the fluted chamber is weaker and after as little as three reloads you may run the risk of case separation in the chamber. Not a good thing.

But, before I became educated somewhat on the fluted chamber/reload issue I did reload for the CETME.

Now what I have done is simply found a round that shoots well in the gun and I have reloaded a couple thousance just in case I need them.

bullseye308
September 16, 2008, 06:34 PM
I reload for a CETME as well and have no issues with it. Some cases I have have been reloaded 6 times and show no signs of failure as of yet. BUT my rifle is in tip top shape and the bolt gap is in spec and MY rifle seems to be nicer to the brass than most others I have seen. Lots of CETME(G3, 91) owners have rifles that dent the case mouth on ejection or dent the body on the deflector, mine does not. I have seen brass with very deep flute marks in it that were fired in a rifle that was nost definitely not in spec.

The 3 on the left were from a bulk brass purchase, the 2 on the right were fired by me. When attempting to re-size the 3 on the left type, I have to cut about half of them in half to get my expander back out. I now throw them in the scrap bucket.

ftierson
September 16, 2008, 09:28 PM
I reload both 7.62x51mm NATO and 5.56x45mm cases that have been fired in fluted chambers...

Never have I had any problems...

If you want to get rid of the nasty brass with the soot and lines on it, please feel free to send it to me (preferably before you take Coy Getman's advice about crushing the cases with a hammer) and I'll be happy to dispose of it for you...:)

Forrest

rbernie
September 16, 2008, 10:33 PM
I've not had any issues reloading brass fired in my CETMEs. I suspect that RCBS is being overly cautious in deference to our litigous society.

evan price
September 17, 2008, 02:46 AM
I've got some fired in a rifle with bolt-clearance issues, the brass almost looks like a corrugated cardboard box up by the neck. That stuff is junk. I've also seen some that you tumble them and the flute lines are gone.
YMMV.

spec26
September 17, 2008, 07:16 PM
Well getting 100 cases prepped for sizing, looks my the guy I bought the brass from declined to inform me that 1 in 4 are fluted and fluted so bad they can't be sized....Oh well you live and learn....

Impossible to size...each one got stuck on entry...

243winxb
September 17, 2008, 10:04 PM
Thank you for your interest in Redding Reloading Equipment. Iím not aware of any problems using cases that were fired in a fluted chamber. If a normal full length sizing die doesnít work, try a small base die.



Regards,



Patrick T. Ryan



Redding Reloading Equipment

1089 Starr Road

Cortland, NY 13045


Looks like there are alot of variables involved. The type of firearm, soft or hard brass, probably more.

bullseye308
September 17, 2008, 10:42 PM
If you can't get it full length sized, chances are slim that you will get it in a small base die. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Reloading Brass Fired in a Fluted Chamber :Reply from RCBS" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!