Scope Adjustment Needed?


PDA






Whiteymin
October 5, 2008, 05:53 AM
I have a Ruger M77 Mark II that I just mounted a new scope on(so keep in mind the Ruger rings. I tried adjusting as much through those rings to bring everything to as center as possible instead of moving my Scope adjustments. However, Those rings have to tightened down, so it sorda cancelled out using them to center adjust.. I just finished and I had to move the in scope turret 56 clicks. That seems extreme to me. Can somebody help teach me here what I need to do or confirm that 56 clicks is not unreasonable. Thank you

If you enjoyed reading about "Scope Adjustment Needed?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Chuck Dye
October 5, 2008, 11:09 AM
Call Ruger and the scope manufacturer. Who will know better?

In the meantime, examine the receiver and mounts for burrs or crud that may prevent full seating of the rings in the mounts. Swapping the rings fore and aft might show you that one is out of spec.

Leupold's website says the adjustment range of the VX-III is 57 MOA. If that 57 MOA is actually 28.5 MOA and your scope has MOA clicks, you have used about half that range. From what I remember of what I have read about scope design, that is not extreme.

Chuck Dye
October 5, 2008, 11:15 AM
Are you sure those 56 clicks are from the center of the range? It may pay to count clicks from full left to full right, halve that number and center the reticle. If someone has played with the scope in your absence, that 56 clicks may include a recovery factor: things may not be as bad as you think.

If you enjoyed reading about "Scope Adjustment Needed?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!