EOTech accuracy?


PDA






drgrenthum
October 7, 2008, 04:03 PM
So i took my new AR out to the range yesterday. It is my first, anvil arms lower, del-ton upper, eotech 512. GG&G backup sites. So i am trying to zero it in at 50 yards and for the life of me (and my brother for that matter) I cannot get the rounds to fall any closer then 3" of POA. These were not tight groups just 3" off, the hits where landing everywhere in a 6" radius. I used three different types of ammo, wolf 55g, remington 55g, and reloads 62g m855 23.5grains h335.

So is 3" off POA at 50 yards typical of a CQB site or do i just need more practice and/or different ammo? Any advice is appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "EOTech accuracy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ctgmi
October 7, 2008, 05:22 PM
I think that another variable should be looked at as I get a 2 group using and EOTech mounted on a Taurus .480 Raging Bull with a 5 barrel.
I would go back out before you change anything and see what kind of groups are accomplished using the iron sights.

taliv
October 7, 2008, 05:34 PM
you put an eotech on a .480 raging bull??? that's so wrong :)

i have the 8" barrel in same caliber. love it.


dr, i spent last week in a carbine class where most folks were using RDO of some flavor. we confirmed zeros at the beginning and end of each day, 5 shots at 50 yrds, prone, slow fire.

While I didn't get to see all the groups, I would characterize them as 10% 1-2" groups, 60% 3-4" groups, 30% worse

stiletto raggio
October 7, 2008, 05:45 PM
My EOTech has always given great accuracy...

thisisdenny
October 7, 2008, 06:33 PM
Taliv, that had to be a typo...

you didn't really confirm zero at 5 yards, did you?

Kingcreek
October 7, 2008, 07:04 PM
my RRA entry tactical with Eotech 512 groups around 1-2" @ 50 yards.

ScottyT
October 7, 2008, 07:08 PM
we confirmed zeros at the beginning and end of each day, 5 shots at 5 yrds, prone, slow fire.

Ha! I am sure you meant 50 yards, but just picturing someone prone shooting at a target 15 feet away is hilarious.

taliv
October 7, 2008, 07:42 PM
yeah, typo... sorry ... edited

Shung
October 7, 2008, 07:55 PM
my 553 is deadly precise on my AR's.. and unlike what was said on some videos, it keeps itself zeroed when detaching/reattaching it on the rifle.

MechAg94
October 7, 2008, 10:31 PM
I would also check the same with iron sights. IMO, it is either the rifle or the scope mount is moving around.

EOTech on a 20" AR, Less than 3" groups at 100 yards. More my fault than the sight.

okiebuckout
October 7, 2008, 11:27 PM
Had one on a SAW and did some close range target shooting with it. Yes did some single shots. It is capable of better than 3in. at 50yrds.

drgrenthum
October 7, 2008, 11:42 PM
Alright went and played with the sight and while there was no noticeable movement from side to side i could slide it front to back. So this weekend i will head back out and try to zero again.

Funny thing is i was having so much fun out there i forgot to even mess with the iron sites. I will put that on the list of things to do as well. Glad to know this is just user error.

Wes Janson
October 8, 2008, 12:29 AM
Turn the brightness down until you can just barely see the dot on the target, and then set the brightness about two clicks higher. If you're trying to zero an EOTech with the brightness set at 20 or so, the reticle will wash out and obscure too much of the target to obtain a consistent sight picture. Back down the power level and you'll see your groups shrink.

wyocarp
October 8, 2008, 12:49 AM
I like my aimpoint.

HGUNHNTR
October 8, 2008, 12:51 AM
the dot is 1 moa, so it is capable of 1 inch at 100 yds.

CWL
October 8, 2008, 01:43 AM
Might be right since that would be 6" MOA.

Perhaps your Eotech is on the lower end of specifications (sorry).

Did you check to make sure that you have solidly mounted it? A slightly loose mount could be the cause.

Double Naught Spy
October 8, 2008, 08:09 AM
That 1 MOA center dot on the Eotech can get MUCH larger with 'reticle bloom' as the brightness is turned up. We found the best results occurred when attempting to use the Eotech in lower light such that the brightness was turned way down and the dot was smallest.

If you enjoyed reading about "EOTech accuracy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!