Kimber Quality

PDA

rojocorsa
October 13, 2008, 10:43 PM
This perhaps has been discussed before, but I have just recently joined THR.

Some claim that Kimber quality is spotty and that they are over priced.
Others say that Kimber is the best, etc.

Keep in mind that I am a beginner, I have more "book" knowledge than actual range experience. The only 1911s that I have shot were a Kimber Custom II and a Colt Series 80. I only have positive things to say about the Kimber. The weapon felt good in my hand and it balanced well. The trigger was crisp and it resets promptly. I personally liked it better than the Series 80, it just felt more overall "smooth'', like a Cadillac. At seven yards I got very decent groups with the Kimber.

(I have nothing against the Series 80 BTW)

But what is the truth? Is Kimber a reliable brand, or would buying a Kimber be a bad investment?

Also what are other good brands for 1911s?

If you enjoyed reading about "Kimber Quality" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kmbrman
October 13, 2008, 11:14 PM
Iv'e owned a Kimber Custom 2 for many years and fired every shape and style of FMJ and JHP through it. It has always been utterly reliable and as accurate as I can hold it. Have used it to take CC test in my state, and the gun outshot everyones pistols I shot with on the qualification target. The only change Iv'e made is that I installed Novak sights that I can see easier.

rojocorsa
October 13, 2008, 11:32 PM
And do Kimbers present those feeding ramp problems found on certain 1911s?

sammy
October 14, 2008, 12:13 AM
I have a Stainless Target II that is out to Cylinder and Slide for a action job and magwell. The pistol has allways been flawless and was my favorite before it left. Had a few FTF's the first 200 rounds but ran everything I fed it after that (3000 rounds). That was 7 months ago and I am told it is shipping this week. Cannot wait!!!

Wildfire