Lyman 1200 DPS II Problem


PDA






jjmcnace
October 21, 2008, 08:37 PM
I have one of these powder dispensers and really like it. I had not used the unit for approx 5 months, then went to us it yesterday and I could not get it to calibrate with the check weight. The 20gram check weight is suppose to weight 308.6 grains and my scale tells me that it weights 307.9
Also if I run a charge though it of say 50 gr and check that on my RCBS 505 the 505 tells me that the Lyman dispenser is 0.7 grains off. After throwing a charge on the dispenser, I then dump that charge out and place the pan back on the Lyman scale and it does not read 0.0 gr like it should, it says 0.7
I have used a blower to make sure there is no powder under the scale pan also.

That is quit a ways off. I have had this scale for almost 4 years

Anyone else had this problem before with this unit. I have used this dispenser for almost 4 years and has always been in the same room in my house and have never had a lick of trouble with it until now.

How is Lymans service? As good as RCBS service? I do not want to pay shipping which is probably $30 then pay $75 to fix the dispenser then pay to have it shipped back.

If you enjoyed reading about "Lyman 1200 DPS II Problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Strongbad
October 21, 2008, 10:01 PM
Mine was acting up once, this has been a few years ago, but it wasn't misbehaving quite as bad as yours. The zero would drift a few grains and by that I mean when I remove the pan (I use the RCBS pan because it's bigger) it should read 141.5. Sometimes I'd remove it and it'd say 141.7 or whatever. I sent it back, and within two weeks I got it back with a letter and the testing they had done on it. The letter essentially said they didn't find a problem. All I know is that I haven't had a problem since.

Take the brush and make absolutely sure there's no grains of any kind under the scale. Next try moving it to a different surface, just to double check it. It needs to be level and perfectly still. Make sure there's no draft or air blowing on it from another source (I know these are the no brainers). Last but not least, if you haven't shut it off in a while, leave it off and then turn it back on the next day and let it re-warm up. Those are my suggestions at the moment anyway. :)

steve4102
October 22, 2008, 08:22 AM
When mine acts up like this, there is always a rat turd grain of powder stuck between the scale pan and the housing. I know you are using air, but take a good look for a grain of rat turd powder really stuck in there.

Herk30
October 22, 2008, 08:38 AM
Are you using the same powder you always have? I had a similar problem when I switched powders, from Benchmark to Varget if I remember right. I called customer service and they told me to screw the little black reducer into the tube where the powder comes out. Worked like a charm. She said some powders need he restriction some don't. Their customer service was top notch from what I have had to deal with them.

The Bushmaster
October 22, 2008, 11:35 AM
My powder pro does the same thing. My pan weighs 215 grains +/- .1 grain. Sometimes when I remove it from the scale it will read 214. But when I replace the pan back on the scale it reads 00.0. That is what I want to see. What the scale says when the pan isn't on the scale really doesn't matter as long as it reads "00.0" when the empty pan is on the scale...

jjmcnace
October 22, 2008, 01:05 PM
Checked thoroughly for "Rat Turds" and there are none. LOL

If you enjoyed reading about "Lyman 1200 DPS II Problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!