first rifle recommendations for a noob

PDA

Korbin
November 7, 2008, 01:22 PM
I'm just throwing this out here to see what you recommend. I'm fairly new to shooting and I've got the handgun and shotgun. I'm starting to get interested in rifles. Here's the deal -

I would like something fairly cheap to shoot, but .22 doesn't quite do it for me. I like to feel some kick. What I'm mostly looking for is a caliber recommendation above a .22 that is fun, cheap, and abundant.

I like bolt action and lever action, but I'm open to semi auto as well (not so much the tactical ones though).

The old rifles like the mosin nagant appeal to me, but it seems like it is (or could be in the future) hard to find the right ammo. I also really like the looks of the lever action marlins. Especially the stainless ones.

I see myself going to an outdoor range once in awhile just to play with it.

Anybody have any recommendations?

If you enjoyed reading about "first rifle recommendations for a noob" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bang_bang
November 7, 2008, 01:25 PM
What's your price range?

How much is too expensive for a box of ammo?

Will the rifle be used for hunting also?

Korbin
November 7, 2008, 01:33 PM
Price Range
$200 to $400
(I know, bye bye stainless marlin)

Ammo cost
I'd like to keep it under or near $15 for 50 rounds.

No hunting.

bang_bang
November 7, 2008, 01:46 PM
I would say to find a cheap SKS, but the price on that ammo might go up with Obama in office.:cuss:

Finding ammo for $15 per 50 is hard, unless it shoots pistol ammo. A Marlin 9mm camp rifle (i think that's what it's called) will do. But if you're looking for accuracy instead of noise, look into a Stevens bolt action rifle chambered in .223. These are excellent rifles, highly accurate, and brand new priced at $300.