Please Help! Lee 4 Hole Turret?

PDA

357mag357
November 14, 2008, 07:28 PM
Just started to have trouble with my Lee 4 Hole Turret Press with Auto Index. During the charging and belling stage the brass is getting crushed on one side. It doesn’t do it all the time. I am using mixed brass that has been cleaned and polished. I have been reloading for about 5 years with this press without any problems. The case I am reloading is a 38 Special using Lee dies. I have not call Lee yet, wanted to see what you all think. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Please Help! Lee 4 Hole Turret?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
RustyFN
November 14, 2008, 09:31 PM
The only thing I can think of is the powder dies is set a little too low. I had that happen once and got a similar result.
Rusty

357mag357
November 15, 2008, 09:20 AM
Thanks. Will give it a try.

Remo-99
November 15, 2008, 09:40 AM
from those pics, the casemouth is catching on the edge of the expander/case charger insert of the die. rounding/smoothing the edge may fix the issue, but it shouldn't be doing that in the first place.

FoMoGo
November 15, 2008, 10:21 AM
Make sure it is fully indexing the turret, if it is just a fraction off it will do this exact thing.

Jim

357mag357
November 15, 2008, 05:58 PM
Remo. After looking at that part that bells the case it was not smooth. I used a very fine grain of sand paper and smoothed it out. So far so good. Thanks. I wonder why it happened it the first place? Does that part need to be replaced on occation?

D. Manley
November 15, 2008, 06:10 PM