The .223 is a nasty caliber...

PDA

IdahoLT1
November 17, 2008, 05:33 AM
with the right bullet. Granted they can only use FMJ in the military so theres alot of nay sayers but this is 3 shots using HSM's 55gr Vmax into a pumpkin.

http://i36.tinypic.com/28vq7mg.jpg
http://i35.tinypic.com/161ca6v.jpg

If you enjoyed reading about "The .223 is a nasty caliber..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bkb0000
November 17, 2008, 05:36 AM
am i having wicked deja vu? i swear i saw this post like two weeks ago, but it says it's two minutes old

C-grunt
November 17, 2008, 05:40 AM
Being a vet I can assure you that even FMJ .223s are nasty.

IdahoLT1
November 17, 2008, 05:47 AM
Haha, maybe people like to shoot pumpkins? This was from Saturday morning.

biggiesmalls
November 17, 2008, 06:30 AM
i was sure that the military could only use fmjs (all the economy of war stuff that gets passed around) until i read this:

http://ammo.ar15.com/ammo/project/legal_milhollow.html

Freelance Tax Collector
November 17, 2008, 10:34 AM
If that's what a .223 does, imagine what a .308 does :cool:

Boxing Buffalo
November 17, 2008, 10:56 AM
A couple weeks ago by shooting buddies and myself all went to the woods with some pumpkins.

The first one had a five seven, 00 buck, and some .223 put in it before the R700 in .308 got to it.

The second pumpkin had the .308 for it's first shot and it split the pumpkin right in two and made a ridiculous exit wound.

Matrix187
November 17, 2008, 10:59 AM
The Wolf Military Classic 7.62x39 HP cartridge has the 8m3 bullet which is even "better" at doing damage than the 5.56 m193 round.
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=158778

I wouldn't want to be on the recieving end (although this term can apply to any bullet, LOL).

Coltdriver
November 17, 2008, 07:36 PM