MT resident going to California

PDA

Marlin444
November 18, 2008, 09:16 PM
I am a Montana resident going to my parent's in California for the holidays.

Can I bring guns that I purchased in MT to California?

What about high cap mag's and AR's?

If the above items are disassembled, could I bring them?

If you enjoyed reading about "MT resident going to California" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Zoogster
November 18, 2008, 09:23 PM
No.

You may only bring magazines holding 10 rounds or less into the state.

"Assault Weapons" are complicated in CA law.
There is 2 lists that prohibits multiple ARs and AKs as well as a host of other firearms by specific name.
That is seperate from another statute that prohibits weapons by feature.

So a firearm on the list modified to comply with CA law would still be felony criminal possession.
However an identical weapon not listed on the Roberti-Roos list, or the Kasler list modified to comply with the feature law would be legal.

So you need to first determine if your ARs are on either list to determine if they are even eligable for conversion.
You then need to study the features list, and make modifications. In general you can severely modify the firearm so it has no pistol grip or other listed feature etc to retain the ability to use a detachable magazine OR you can install a device to "permanently" lock the magazine in place so it cannot be removed without the use of a tool.
In the end you can only have either a detachable magazine, or other features, not a regular detachable magazine and those features.

There is various ways to comply with that, some more user friendly. A "bullet lock" is fairly popular. It essentialy replaces the magazine release with a detent that is impossible to press with your finger, but can be pushed with the tip of a round.