How Much Meat Should I Expect? (Deer, Elk, Moose, Bear)

PDA

SwearNoAllegiance
November 24, 2008, 09:22 PM
I have to be honest, I am new to hunting for the most part. Didn't like it much as a kid, but now, as a man, I feel it to be very important and am over my petty complaints of how gross it is or how sad I am that I had to kill a cute little rabbit.

I am finding that the older I get (25 now), the more I want to be self-reliant. I'm planning on moving to either Alaska, Montana, Alberta, or British Columbia and am going to take up a quiet life outside of conventional society.

I need to know how much meat an average deer, elk, moose, and even bear will yield. This is important because I plan to live mostly on game that I shoot myself.

Thank you, kindly.

If you enjoyed reading about "How Much Meat Should I Expect? (Deer, Elk, Moose, Bear)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
sumpnz
November 24, 2008, 10:05 PM
Pretty close to 40-50% of the dressed weight is reasonable. Give or take depending on the quality of the critter's food source.

SwearNoAllegiance
November 24, 2008, 10:40 PM
Perhaps my question should revolve around the average weight of the animals I ask about. I'll google search it later, but if anyone has any experience, I would be obliged if you saved me some time.

nickE10mm
November 24, 2008, 11:00 PM
I would say that from a smallish deer (like the one I got last week in my other thread), I yielded about 35 lbs of pure, fatless meat (and that's not counting the rump, ribcage/meat or neck) ... in other words, just the shoulders, hams and tenderloins. Of course, I made mine into jerky which is the dry part of the meat (with no water) which reduces its weight by about 90%.

From a larger doe or buck, I've gotten as much as 60+ lbs of usable, good quality meat per deer. In other words, a LOT. Hope that helps.

MountainWalk
November 25, 2008, 03:03 AM