Unique vs Universal

PDA

bluetopper
November 28, 2008, 09:58 AM
I went to Gander Mtn. to buy some Unique powder and they were out of it so I decided to try some Universal Clays. I've never tried either before. For those of you that have, which of the two powders do you like the best?

If you enjoyed reading about "Unique vs Universal" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
lgbloader
November 28, 2008, 11:45 AM
Hello parasite,

What caliber are you using it for?

Universal is great for light loads in 40 S&W, well, at least in my pistol.

Unique is kinda is kinda like my do all powder - good for all hand gun but not spectacular for any particular. Even works in some rifle using lead cast bullets. So I keep a can of it in my stash just in case.

I don't really have any pet loads for Unique in my pistols but I have a ladder made with Unique for my 40 S&W that I have yet to shoot so... who knows... Maybe I will finally fall in love with it.

I will be very curious at what other posts you will get on this thread.

LGB

Walkalong
November 28, 2008, 11:49 AM
They are both good powders that are used a lot by reloaders. I really like Universal in .40.

bluetopper
November 28, 2008, 11:53 AM
"My" main intent on getting either Unique or Universal is developing a less than full house target load for 44 Magnum.

But I'm sure I'll try out the Universal in 45acp, 9mm 147gr, and 38Spl too.

XD-40 Shooter
November 28, 2008, 12:02 PM
I haven't used Universal, but I have 8lbs of Unique and its great in the 40 S&W. Its great for Ranier target loads and I can even push the Gold Dot's pretty good with it. Its a little dirtier than some powders, but I clean my gun anyway. Another bonus, its bulky, so a double charge is almost impossible.

12Bravo20
November 28, 2008, 12:08 PM