Questions about my new AR(break-in and reloads)


PDA






Reneage Riot
December 3, 2008, 09:47 PM
I ordered an Ar 15 kit from Del-ton, and hope it will be here around Christmas, but i was wondering about "barrel break-in". Reading online a few people seemed to think it was a gimmick. But that's not simply my question. I plan on shooting reloads through it, don't really even plan on buying factory ammo.

So with the whole barrel break in crowd, should i buy a box of good factory ammo to shoot through it before i start using my reloads? Places I've read said to use good ammo during the break in can help with accuracy in the long run.

IDK, just figured i would ask what people's opinion was on the break in process, and if there was anything wrong with using reloads from alpha to omega.

If you enjoyed reading about "Questions about my new AR(break-in and reloads)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
The Deer Hunter
December 3, 2008, 09:57 PM
I don't mean to sound like a jerk but have you asked yourself how using high quality (expensive) ammunition going to make your gun more accurate down the line?

Your cheapest hand loads are probably better than most high end factory ammo, too.

taliv
December 3, 2008, 11:12 PM
del-ton barrels don't need any more breaking in than glock barrels

Cesiumsponge
December 3, 2008, 11:42 PM
Assuming its just a chrome-lined barrel, just shoot it and clean it to taste.

Assuming its a stainless steel match barrel...everyone seems to have a different break-in technique (if any).

longdayjake
December 4, 2008, 12:56 AM
Break in process...1000 rounds in 1 hour.

Bevobud76
December 4, 2008, 01:55 AM
whichever bullet you'll be using predominantly, use that bullet all the way through your break in process. I don't know if that really makes any difference or not, just personal preference I guess.

TIMC
December 4, 2008, 01:56 AM
I have quite a few rifles that have never had a factory round in them. You do not need factory ammo for break in and in my opinion you don't need any secret super scientific break in process either. Just shoot and enjoy then clean when you get home.

harmonic
December 4, 2008, 02:10 AM
I asked this same question about my AR. It turns out that barrel break in is 100% myth. Read this thread and pay attention to the posts by the late Gene McMillan. He's the same as McMillan barrels.

http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=12582

I have yet to fire my AR. I'm still waiting for the bipod I ordered, but for "break in," someone simply suggested I not do any "magazine dumps" for the first 100 rounds.

Trempel
December 4, 2008, 01:34 PM
Breaking in a barrel on an AR that won't be a dedicated F-class competition rifle or a long range varmint gun is a waste of time. Go out and shoot the thing.

Frankl03
December 4, 2008, 02:00 PM
I shoot strictly handloads in my AR. I did break it in with 200 rounds of federal 223. But if I did it again I would just go with handloads. My AR shoots great with the handloaded ammo!

If you enjoyed reading about "Questions about my new AR(break-in and reloads)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!