.223/5.56 reloads jamming in my AR-15


PDA






OhioDon
December 4, 2008, 11:02 AM
Hi guys,
need some help I have an DPMS AR-15 chambered for 5.56
I am reloading LC headstamped 5.56 once fired brass the
issue is that the round jams just before the bolt closes on the
gun and the forward assist is no help it just jams even worse
if I push it, all new ammo cycles fine just my reloads won't
any tips, tricks, or pointers you could give me would be appreciated
here the ammo and reloading info:

brass= 5.56 LC once fired tumbled and deburred

bullet= 55gr winchester FMJ

Dies: RCBS full length .223/5.56 on an RCBS rock chucker

If you enjoyed reading about ".223/5.56 reloads jamming in my AR-15" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Evenflo76
December 4, 2008, 11:06 AM
Was the brass fires out of your rifle,or another?

Did you Full Length size or just neck size it?

cracked butt
December 4, 2008, 11:08 AM
http://thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=409877

jmorris
December 4, 2008, 11:19 AM
I would suggest getting a case gauge for the rounds you load as it makes setting the dies more precise or at the very least faster. If that seems too much like reading the directions you can try the following.

Take the upper off your AR and with the barrel on the floor place a once fired (unsized) piece of brass into the chamber. With the bolt carrier snapped into place, notice that it protrudes from the upper receiver around .250. This and neck tension is why we have to resize.

Now back out your full length sizing die so it’s not sizing anymore (likely you are there currently) and turn at a time screw it in, while testing, each time, the sized brass for fit as above. Keep going until a sized piece of brass will allow the carrier to sit flush with the upper then add 1/8 turn. That should get you going for the weekend, now order a case gauge.

SSN Vet
December 4, 2008, 11:57 AM
The only time I've had one of my reloads jam up my AR (5.56 chamber) was due to the case being longer than 1.76"

I missed trimming one.

Are you measuring / trimming your brass?

Hutch
December 4, 2008, 12:00 PM
It might be that small-base dies would fix this. If it's consistent, I'd bet on the web being a bit too thick for what may be a tight chamber.

Post and let the forum members know how this turns out, please.

243winxb
December 4, 2008, 12:37 PM
http://thehighroad.org/showpost.php?p=5123230&postcount=26 another misadjusted die??

rcmodel
December 4, 2008, 01:17 PM
One more time!

Color a round with a black Magic-Marker & try to chamber it.

Wherever the black wears off is what is tight.

10 to 1 it is going to be shoulder related.

Either not fully sized due to improper sizing die adjustment.
(Screw it down until it bumps the shell-holder hard.)

Or partial shoulder collapse due to excess crimp.
(Trim all the cases to the same length if using the seating die to crimp.
Or get a Lee FCD.)

rcmodel

carbine85
December 4, 2008, 08:05 PM
What's the powder and weight. A weak load won't function properly either. I'm guessing it's length or sizing.

jmorris
December 4, 2008, 10:59 PM
What's the powder and weight. A weak load won't function properly either. I'm guessing it's length or sizing.

and the forward assist is no help it just jams even worse

Not the op's problem

longdayjake
December 4, 2008, 11:02 PM
I got 10 bucks that says you didn't lube your bolt and carrier well enough. Slather on a bunch of lube and get back to us. If that's not the problem then you may consider small base dies. You should have plenty of shoulder space with a 5.56 chamber. I had the same problem with my rock river until I started putting a bunch of lube on it. I have not had the problem since. Also, you really need to let them slam home. I have a buddy that almost sent his gun back to the manufacturer because when he was letting the charging handle back down he was trying to slowly guide it in like you would with a bolt action. He could not get it to work even once that way. I stopped him from sending it and took him out to see what he was doing wrong. I watched him try it with 5 rounds as he got more and more frustrated I just started chuckling a little harder each time. Then he passed it on to me. I looked at it for a while, pretended to push some magic buttons on the receivers, pulled back the charging handle, let it slam home and emptied the magazine. It was a fun day.

Sport45
December 4, 2008, 11:06 PM
I'll take that bet.

all new ammo cycles fine just my reloads won't



My money says he's not sizing enough.

Either not fully sized due to improper sizing die adjustment.
(Screw it down until it bumps the shell-holder hard.)


+1

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
December 4, 2008, 11:25 PM
Screw your sizing die into your press another quarter turn or so, make a dummy round, see if it will load into your chamber and seat. If not, continue to turn the die in a bit at a time until it does.

Regards,

Dave

angus6
December 4, 2008, 11:42 PM
Don I see your having the same sounding trouble with a DPMS barrel as I did , compare the shoulder of a reload to a piece you haven't touched. I did a BIG batch with the dies just a touch to tight,everything but my 24"DPMS eats them up , hope you didn't do as many as I did

Frankl03
December 5, 2008, 12:05 AM
What about col. I reload for my AR and set max overall length for 2.245. Whats the col of your cartridges. That may be the problem if the your cartridges are too long.

kelbro
December 5, 2008, 12:09 AM
I'm betting that it is a case sizing issue but my DPMS upper needed a good scrubbing and lot of lube (CLP) around the lugs when it was new. Tight tolerances I guess.

Clean and oil the lugs on the bolt and the recess in the barrel. Clean the protruding part of the gas tube in the upper receiver. Then try again. If that doesn't do it, check your ammo.

Do you know anyone else with an AR that could try your loads? If they work in another rifle, that doesn't completely eliminate the possibility that you have a tight chamber but it might keep you from setting the shoulders on your loads too far back trying to solve this problem.

Samgotit
December 5, 2008, 12:15 AM
If you're new to reloading and you're using once fired brass, you need a case gauge.

rcmodel
December 5, 2008, 01:28 PM
You should have plenty of shoulder space with a 5.56 chamber.What's that got to do with anything?

The headspace on a 5.56 is the same as a .223 Remington if he is using .223 reloading dies.

It is just as easy to mis-adjust a sizing die for a 5.56 chamber as anything else.

That may be the problem if the your cartridges are too long.If they will fit in the magazine, they are not too long.

rcmodel

SlamFire1
December 5, 2008, 04:47 PM
I have a buddy that almost sent his gun back to the manufacturer because when he was letting the charging handle back down he was trying to slowly guide it in like you would with a bolt action. He could not get it to work even once that way. I stopped him from sending it and took him out to see what he was doing wrong. I watched him try it with 5 rounds as he got more and more frustrated I just started chuckling a little harder each time. Then he passed it on to me. I looked at it for a while, pretended to push some magic buttons on the receivers, pulled back the charging handle, let it slam home and emptied the magazine. It was a fun day.

I can slowly drop my bolt, and just lightly bumb the forward assist to get the extractor to snap over the rim, to chamber my rounds.

What you have just described is another example of rounds that are either 1) too fat or 2) too long. I have no doubt that your bud did not use small base dies or cartridge headspace gages to size his brass.

So, as he was slowly lowering the bolt, he got an interference fit.

And you, as you slammed the bolt forward, through its full range of motion under spring tension, were crush fitting the cases to the chamber.

Yes, ARs' will often resize cases that are a little too fat or a little too long. And sometimes, they won't.

And if you ever do this trick on a M1a or M1 Garand, you are treading on thin ice. That gun will slamfire out of battery.

You absolutely want no delay to bolt closure on a Garand type mechanism. The AR, I have seen slamfires, and experienced one slamfire, but the mechanism always has some lug engagement.

longdayjake
December 5, 2008, 08:38 PM
the rounds my buddy was using were remington 40 grainers straight from walmart. No matter how hard he hit his forward release he was just getting them stuck tighter.

P-32
December 6, 2008, 12:42 AM
Screw your sizing die into your press another quarter turn or so, make a dummy round, see if it will load into your chamber and seat. If not, continue to turn the die in a bit at a time until it does.


+1 Solved my AR problems when I first started loading 223.

P-32
December 6, 2008, 01:56 AM
A double tap, sorry

Borg
December 7, 2008, 05:34 AM
Easy way to find out,, eject a live round,, if you can.

Borg
December 7, 2008, 05:35 AM
Easy way to find out,, eject a live round,, if you can.

Borg
December 7, 2008, 05:37 AM
Easy to find out.
Eject a live round, if you can't, it's the case.

NAK
December 8, 2008, 09:10 PM
I am relatively new to reloading; less than a year.
I had been feeding my Bushy OCR my reloads and never had a problem.
Bought a DPMS 24" heavy barreled upper and went to the range to break it in. About 3 out of 4 of my hand loads would not chamber and I had hell ejecting them.

The fine folks here suggested I buy one of those fancy gages you drop the cases into.

They were 100% on target with their diagnosis. Once I got my die set up so the Gage thing said it was correct, I have not had another problem.

lamazza
December 8, 2008, 09:29 PM
or..maybe your press isn't mounted firmly enough to size the brass properly

If you enjoyed reading about ".223/5.56 reloads jamming in my AR-15" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!