Ideal no.55 questions

PDA

Grassman
December 7, 2008, 11:43 PM
I've got an older Ideal No.55 and I have several questions about it.

1. The two adjustments, upper and lower, I assume the upper controls the grain setting? What is the lower one, its a little bigger and mine don't hardy move. Seized up?
2. I guess the two set screws lock your settings in?
3. Do you just put the brass underneath and charge it that way, with a pull of the lever? Is there a special bottom piece for different calibers?
4. What is the piece thats attached with the cotter pin for?

I hope you understand my questions, I've searched the net, and archives on this site, but never found any manuals or instructions. I know these sound like stupid obvious question, but not for me. I'm just learning this stuff so bear with me. And if you guys have a link to any websites that explain this powder measure, that would be great. Thanks, Grass :confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "Ideal no.55 questions" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
qajaq59
December 8, 2008, 06:37 AM
I've got an older Ideal No.55 and I have several questions about it.

1. The two adjustments, upper and lower, I assume the upper controls the grain setting? What is the lower one, its a little bigger and mine don't hardy move. Seized up?

There are actually 3 adjustments. The black barrel will slide in and out when you want a major change. Then the bottom screw will adjust less then that, but still quite a bit. And finally the top one for the finer adjustments. If you loosen the set screws you can remove all of them and clean them. Pay attention though as there is a little stud that has to be put back in the right position when reassembling. You can lube them with a little graphite. Also, look at the bottom of the black barrel and you will see lines that you can use for settings.

2. I guess the two set screws lock your settings in?

Right.