Gun laws in Germany??

PDA

LIQUID SNAKE
December 15, 2008, 08:50 AM
I have asked about the gun laws in Germany about a dozen times on other sites and am always completely ignored. I have been researching Germany as a retirement country for several years now and am no closer now than when I started. Can anyone here help me with some detailed and preferably serious and official information about the gun laws of Germany???? I would appreciate it a lot. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Gun laws in Germany??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim Watson
December 15, 2008, 08:58 AM
I think I'd go down to
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=5155862#post5155862
and send an email or pm to the O.P. in that thread. He lives in Hamburg.

Where are you now and why do you want to pick a different country to retire to?

LIQUID SNAKE
December 15, 2008, 09:37 AM
I'm in Nevada and I want move to Germany for the woman. Also it is a fall back point in case Gun ownership in this country is totally outlawed.

Pulse
December 15, 2008, 09:40 AM
since i only live about 1 hours drive away from the German Border and will try to give you a answare.

basicly, most things are restricted to licence holders and get a licence you have to join a sportclub.
once you have the licence and can request to buy a firearm and the "Amt" (municipal office?) can either agree or disagree with it.
however, if the Amt allows you to buy it, you can have preaty mutch anything you want.
naturaly it will be very hard to get clearance for F/A weapons or a submachinegun, but they are not outlawed by definition IIRC.

this also includes reloading, powders are also licence only.

also, you might want to consider that firearms in General are extreamly expensiv in most parts of europe, a Saber Defense AR15 goes for 2500USD and more, Glocks are ~800USD and a factory new SIG product for less then ~1000 is a outright steal.