Ruger mk 3

PDA

slacker142
December 26, 2008, 02:29 AM
Brand new gun owner here, got a Ruger Mk III .22 and Im anxious to get it on the range.

Ive got some experience with my fathers Beretta 9mm( Im better with it then he is), should I expect anything different besides less recoil?

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger mk 3" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JackOfAllTradesMasterAtNone
December 26, 2008, 02:53 AM
It'll be more accurate than that Beretta!

-Steve

gpr
December 26, 2008, 04:03 AM
getting the assembly pin back in is a lesson in patience...i have been learning since 1976...gpr

PO2Hammer
December 26, 2008, 04:31 AM
Congrats on the Mk III, welcome to The High Road, shoot safetly.

single stack
December 26, 2008, 08:19 AM
Reassembly after cleaning will be a bother until you get the hang of the procedure.
It is not intuitive. The wording in the directions seems awkward.
Remain calm; the directions are your friend.

Experiment with small batches of a variety of ammo at first.
Once you find the one your gun likes(don't be afraid to try cheap ammo), buy a bunch.
Federal 510 is my favorite.

The MkIII is a great shooter. Enjoy!

SS

david636
December 26, 2008, 09:20 AM
Congratulations on your new MkIII. I have two MkIII’s, a 6 7/8 competition and a 22/45. Both are great guns for shooting targets.

Enjoy yours and be safe.

Fourbits
December 26, 2008, 09:28 AM
Congratulations, you're going to love it. Using the supplied scope mount, try a $30 red dot scope someday. It just adds to the fun.

Rxxdoc
December 26, 2008, 09:32 AM
I love my MkIII, and have probably put 3 thousand rounds thru it without a problem. My only minor complaint is the grip being a bit small for my hands.

It is very accurate, and I haven't had any issues with the gun. You will really love it. Mine likes the cheap ammo, so for $10.00 I can shoot for a few days.

There are a good bunch of people here. Welcome.