Ruger M77 Mk 2 and Hawkeye Accuracy?


PDA






greg788
December 27, 2008, 01:38 PM
In your experience, is it true that Ruger M77 is hit-or-miss in accuracy from rifle to rifle or merely a persistent myth from the Mk 1 days of varied barrel subcontractors?

I found two Hawkeye's in walnut, .243 caliber (NIB) on closeout for stupid good prices: like $500.

But I want 1-1.5 MOA accuracy out of the box with factory ammo. That's the current benchmark.

I can deal with the trigger -- my gunsmith is good so worries about dumping another $100-200 for a Timney or Rifle Basix.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger M77 Mk 2 and Hawkeye Accuracy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
pymi
December 27, 2008, 01:54 PM
I had no problems with Ruger's just have to find the ammo your rifle likes best.
Only complaint is my M77 mark II with the heavy trigger spring which I replaced with a lighter hardware store coil sping for target shooting.

fletchbutt152
December 27, 2008, 02:04 PM
First 3 shots out of her were smaller than a dime at 100yds. First two overlapped. This gun is stock I believe as I bought it used on a work trip about 2 months ago. Of course there was very little wind. After that first day to the range I swapped out the BSA you see on her for a $50 dollar Bushnell. Then she shot 5 shot nickel sized groups twice out of 3 groups. I think I still have to play with the scope mounts as it feels like the scope isn't sitting flush and I had to make major adjustments. But it was good enough for deer season. Also the ammo was $12.97 .270Win Core-Lokt from Walmart.

jmr40
December 27, 2008, 04:27 PM
The idea of inaccurate Rugers is largely a hold over from the origional tang safety models. The newer MK-2 and Hawkeye have the potential to shoot with most any factory rifle. With a little trigger work and finding the right ammo 1.5" groups should be easy. My 308 and 280 will shoot Federal Fusions under 1" easily. That is with a factory trigger. The triggers on the new Hawkeye's is even better and may not need any work.

This is more than acceptable in a hunting rifle. If you want true long range precision there may be better options. Primarily because there are more aftermarkert accessories and more gunsmiths know how to work on other brands. Given enough time, money, and a smith who knows how to work on a Ruger they could probably be made as accurate as anything else.

Lone_Gunman
December 27, 2008, 04:31 PM
I just got a Hawkeye in 30-06. I slapped a scope on it, took it to the range, and shot surplus ammo through it to sight it in roughly. I was getting 2 to 2.5" groups at 100 yrds. So I think it ought to do better with good ammo and more effort on my part.

Float Pilot
December 27, 2008, 05:25 PM
I have worked on a few Stainless Rugers. Notable problems were improper muzzle crowns and some rough machine work around the action rails. Plus the feed ramp on a couple All Weather M77MKIIs needed lots of polishing. The factory triggers often leave a lot to be desired. There was also a run of weak firing pin springs. All of those problems can be fixed without breaking the bank. In fact I have a new 24 pound (Wolff) firing pin spring laying on my desk that needs to go into a M77MKII this week.

Loggerlee
December 27, 2008, 06:12 PM
Mine is a .280,stainless,it'll do .75" moa off of the bench.
Never had a feed problem with mine,unlike the Remington 700 I have..grr.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger M77 Mk 2 and Hawkeye Accuracy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!