starline brass pressure


PDA






rem700nut
December 28, 2008, 10:41 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i know i have to work up a load first ,but before i do , i read where a guy used starline brass in a .44 mag and becouse their brass was thicker than rem or win he had to use alot less powder for the same load because the pressure got to high, i noticed the same thing in my 45-70 , but i load it alot higher than factory loads, any way using starline brass ,250 gr. lead bullet and 8.0 grains of unique and shooting it in a colt .45 saa has anybody had any pressure problems using this recipe in starline brass and colt saa?

If you enjoyed reading about "starline brass pressure" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jjohnson
December 28, 2008, 12:14 PM
I don't know about the specific load, but Starline is just about as good as anyone's for handling pressure. It's very good brass. Just becaus it's a bargain price doesn't mean anything in this particular case.

MMCSRET
December 28, 2008, 12:47 PM
I use that load in my RNMBH 45/45 with no problems, actually my bullets are 263 gr. sized and lubed to .454. No pressure signs, I also use Starline in my Ruger #1 45-70 with no problems, don't know about Colt, my Colt is not 45.

Mal H
December 28, 2008, 01:26 PM
i read where a guy used starline brass in a .44 mag and becouse their brass was thicker than rem or win he had to use alot less powder for the same load because the pressure got to highNot sure where you read that or who the "guy" was (an internet post maybe?), but that is not my experience with Starline brass. I have never had the need to use any guide other than the standard manuals when reloading for .44 Mag or .45 Colt using Starline brass, and I've loaded a bunch of each. IOW, there is no reason to have a lesser max powder weight when using Starline brass as when using any other brand.

In fact, I would say the reverse is true. I would feel (and be) much safer using an over-max load with Starline brass than, say, Remington (paper thin) brass as long as the firearm I am using can take the additional pressure without any risk.


using starline brass ,250 gr. lead bullet and 8.0 grains of unique and shooting it in a colt .45 saa has anybody had any pressure problems using this recipe in starline brass and colt saa?A modern Colt SAA, right?

I haven't used that particular load, but I see no reason why it wouldn't work satisfactorily with no danger to you or the revolver. In fact, that load is probably as safe as any in an older SAA.

rcmodel
December 28, 2008, 01:52 PM
8.0 grains Unique in any brand of brass with a 250 lead bullet is a perfectly safe load in any smokeless powder SAA or clone in good repair.

9.0 is about max.

8.5 is about the factory equivalent of the old black powder load that made the Colt famous!

In any brand of brass!

rcmodel

If you enjoyed reading about "starline brass pressure" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!