Kaboom!

PDA

Tuckerp229
December 28, 2008, 08:29 PM
With my tail over my eyes I humbly submit this kaboom from my range trip today. I have been reloading now for about 6 years without mishap. Today I went with my .30 carbine and most recent reloads to test some new bullets from Reminton. My recipe was straight from the Speer manual #13 page 262. I was using 14 grains of IMR 4227 behind Remington's .30 carbine jacketed soft points 110 grain. OAL was 1.66 inches. This recipe has been very good to me using straight lead 110 grain bullets for 2 years. I just decided to make up the jacketed bullets for better accuracy and less fouling.
The first 4 shots were quite impressive...less than 1/2 inch at 25 yards open sights and about 1 inch at 50 yards. The fifth shot toward the 100 yard range went Kaboom! I was uninjured by the grace of God but my carbine lost some wood out of the stock on the right side all along the action. No metal shows any sign of fatigue or cracks. The bullet case remained in the chamber with the entire bottom end blown away. The brass looks much like the typical HP bullet after expansion. Also the mag bottom blew off and all the rounds in the mag were forced out of the mag. Again no damage to the mag. I just reassembled it.
Other pertinent points: I use a Dillon XL650 with the over/under charge auto alarm. While it is possible...maybe probable that I double/ over charged the case I am none the less perplexed. The bullets are new to me and this recipe. I used a micrometer to verify the size and they run .303-.304 so seem OK. The 14 grains is dead in the middle of the Speer min/ max load.
It almost appears that the gun fired without the bolt being fully locked in place. This a WWII carbine so wear is possible.
Does anyone have any ideas as to the cause or does this seem like an obvious reloader error? I reason for probing the experience of you reloaders is to determine the real cause to avoid a repeat experience wherein I may not be so lucky.