Can I use Accurate 3100 for Brit .303?


PDA






Lariatbob
December 29, 2008, 11:29 PM
Hey, all.
I just accquired some powders from a guy I know who is moving. Nice selection of powders for rifle and pistol, I'm going to have fun trying them all out.
Among them was a pound of Accurate 3100. From what I see, it is mainly for larger magnum rifle loads.
The only thing I can think of using it for is my Enfield .303.
I use a 180 grain round nose jacketed bullet.
Has anyone used this powder for that round, or at least be smarter than I am and give me some good suggestions on what a starting load would be?

I haven't yet tried comparing burn rates and such with other powders that show load data for the .303.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. I would much rather find a use for it than destroy or try to find a home for it.

Thanks
LariatBob

If you enjoyed reading about "Can I use Accurate 3100 for Brit .303?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Galil5.56
December 29, 2008, 11:41 PM
Being that my Accurate manual shows 46 grains as max for 2700, 4350, and 3100 using a 180 grain bullet @ 2042 fps, I would stay pretty close to that and not reduce by much if any considering the propellant in question. Just a FWIW, but I load 40.5 grains of AA 2460 and 180 Rem RN's bullets for a No 4 MKII, and get a chronographed avg velocity of 2413 fps. AA2495 and AA2520 would be right in the sweet spot for factory duplication ammo.

Good luck!

Curator
December 30, 2008, 04:39 PM
I have had very good accuracy using AA3100 in my .303 british rifles. I load 46 grains of it with Hornaday 174 grain round nose bullets. This is almost a compressed powder charge in a fire-formed, neck-sized case. I couldn't get the whole 46 grains in new brass. It works for me as I seat the Hornady slug out to touch the rifling and don't bother with a crimp. AA3100 develops lower pressure than an equal charge of faster burning powder so it is also easy on case life as well. try it you'll like it!

Geno
December 30, 2008, 04:46 PM
I must have burned through literally over 80 pounds of Accurate 3100 powder. I always bought it by the 8Lb jug, I like this powder especially for .25-06 Rem, and .270 Win, .300 Win, .300 Wea. and .338 Win, because it is so close to H4831. Best part was that 3100 used to cost 85% the price of H4831. :)

Of course you can use Accurate 3100 in a .303 Brit. But you should reference a manual for the appropriate minimum and maximum loads. Start just above the minimum and advance upward. We collectively (in my family) have used the H4831 reference.

Edit to clarify that 3100's burn-rate falls "...between IMR 4831 and H4831", (Speer Reloading Manual No. 13, Pg 46, Col. 2).

Best of luck,

Doc2005

If you enjoyed reading about "Can I use Accurate 3100 for Brit .303?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!